Ugh. Decisions.

Because I am back in NC with Weston and Lucy and Clay is out in OK living it up in our two bedroom (hopefully temporary) apartment with Desi, our conversations have been centered around what the hell are we going to do about this whole house situation? As readers are well aware, we own a house here in NC that has been on the market for awhile and while we have had a decent amount of showings, no bites yet. Our situation is not unique. I know we’re blessed and our situation could be a lot worse – we’re not in any danger of being upside down on our mortgage and we can carry our mortgage in NC and pay rent in OK just fine. But that doesn’t mean we want to.

I really don’t mind the fact that we will be calling Oklahoma home for the next few years. Seriously. I really don’t. Sometimes it is hard to remain positive when people give me sympathy and tell me they would never move there by choice. Like us. But I am trying. While I am not a huge fan of Lawton, I do love the surrounding areas and can easily picture ourselves out in the prairie, enjoying the country life.

(source)

Have I mentioned that I am really wanting to buy a (sort of) fixer-upper?

Clay isn’t so sure.

But I just am tired of looking at all the new houses that all look the same after awhile. Unfortunately, I am unable to enjoy country life until we decide what to do with our house in NC – our options being to have it stay on the market or to rent it out. I am tired of the temporary nature my life seems to evoke as of late. I hope the answer comes soon but I can’t help to keeping asking myself if there will ever be a place for me in Oklahoma that will feel like home.

Do you have something to say?

