Study/Playroom Progress

We’ve officially been in our house for two months now. And it really is starting to feel like home. Our house has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, and a study. While the study does have a closet, it does not have a door, therefore it is currently unable to share the title of 4th bedroom. We plan to add a door in the future so we have some flexibility – sometimes it is nice just to able to shut yourself in away from the world, you know? Because we have a child, the study is also a playroom, which is why we’ve been calling it the oh-so-creatively-named study/playroom. It is very much still a work-in-progress but I’d like to share some of the changes we’ve made, like painting the built-in bookcase.

I know, I know – some of you wood purists are just wilting at the thought of painting wood.

But you have to believe me when I say that the wood was not in great shape.

Quite a number of coats of white paint later, the piece is shining and ready for some lovin’. You can see that I didn’t paint the wet bar area, that is because I have different plan, one that involves tile work. The original hardware is still on the piece but I will probably change them out within the next couple of months. We’re also planning on painting the closet door as well so just ignore the wood paneled effect going on in that corner, mmmkay?

Here is the wall with the television. I found that easel for Weston at a second-hand store for $10 and those chairs were thrifted for $2.50 a piece! I’d like to find a kid-friendly table so our little guy has a place to work while we’re using the office portion of the room. The green couch (that we bought in Raleigh back in 2008) serves as a makeshift divider.

We already had one black desk and I painted a white desk we owned a glossy black to match. Clay’s desk chair is one I found for $5 at the Ft. Sill Thrift Shop and once I find a fabric that sings my name (or his), I will reupholster the beast. My chair is one I found at the Raleigh Flea Market in 2010 for $40. It is by far the most comfortable desk chair my bum has ever graced.

Now if you know me, you know that I am not a fan of matchy matchy. So while there is quite a bit of symetry in our work station, I also wanted different elements, like the chairs, computers, and knick knacks on the shelves. Mason jars hold the essentials like pencils, paper clips, pens, and markers. The vamped up file cabinet sits between the two desks and our printer is on top. We’ve had the black magazine/etc… holder for quite some time (I think I found it at a TJ Maxx during our New York days) and it makes a wonderful place to store bills, magazines, and paper. So while the room is nowhere near complete, I feel like we have great progress going on in this joint. And bright colors aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, but it makes us happy. And in the end, that is all that matters.

Study/Playroom To-Do List

  • Make curtains
  • Make/purchase throw pillows
  • Tile wet bar
  • Paint closet door
  • Paint crown molding on wall with window
  • Purchase area rug
  • Purchase/make kid table
  • Purchase/make shelf for toys
  • Mount TV?
  • Reupholster desk chair
  • Paint ceiling
  • Purchase/make artwork for walls

Do you share a home workspace with your spouse? I must say, I love having a separate desk than Clay. LOVE.

2 thoughts on “Study/Playroom Progress

Do you have something to say?

