A Finished Laundry Room

It’s another house-related post. Cue the cheers. Or jeers. We’re going to take a look at the laundry room today. Don’t worry, I will be quick. So on the day of our inspection, the laundry room looked like this…

And then back in January, I blogged about the changes made to the laundry room soon after we moved in. I hated the fact that the room always looked dark, dirty, and dingy, no matter how much I scrubbed and polish – not a good thing for the room where our clothes are washed and ironed.

And now, I finally got around to refinishing the backsplash and countertop. You know what this means? I think we can officially call the laundry room finished. Woohoo. One room down – nine more to go!

I love the fact that it is such a bright and cheery room.

And it smells like a cloud (at least in my mind) and sparkles with shine.

It almost makes me want to do laundry. Almost.

5 thoughts on “A Finished Laundry Room

  1. Amy May 2, 2012 / 10:25 pm

    It’s beautiful! Yes, it does look peaceful and that is inviting in any room. You may need to lock yourself in some days. 🙂

  2. Carrie @ Busy Nothings May 3, 2012 / 6:38 am

    It looks AWESOME, Karen!!! So…did you paint the backsplash and the countertop???

    • Karen May 3, 2012 / 7:17 am

      I did! I used a semi-gloss paint, making sure to let each coat cure. Then I sealed the countertop with a clear enamel. In my opinion, it is tougher than the original laminate. I think the key to painting laminate countertops is patience. Each coat of paint must cure before moving on to the next step. It took me about four days from start to finish on this countertop and backsplash.

  3. Shelly May 3, 2012 / 10:02 am

    Yup, I’d definitely want to spend more time in the room now with it’s finished look. Good job!

  4. Sara May 7, 2012 / 12:16 pm

    Your home makeovers inspire me to want to attempt similar projects! I don’t like our laundry room either. It doubles as the downstairs bathroom and is very functional but just ugly.

Do you have something to say?

