Our Weekend – Bikes, Shoes, Drinks, and Food

It’s Monday – the start of a new week. It is a slightly shortened week for us because near the end, we’re taking off due south for a couple of days to a city that claims it’s “Where the West Begins”. This little trip will kick off our summer of traveling. Have I mentioned that I am looking forward to getting out of Oklahoma for a bit?

So the little guy has a bike now. He is still a bit too small but we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to buy a used bike in great condition from a friend. Clay and I kept resorting to the cliched, “I can’t believe how big he is getting” all weekend because it is true. There is something about seeing your baby on a bike that tugs on your heart. But then again, we’re loving this age and think that each age gets more and more fun, so I really have no desire for him to stay super young forever. And having a potty-trained child certainly sounds wonderful, if not a pipe dream for us at this moment in time.

There is no excuse now! On Saturday I bought new running shoes because my Brooks were on their last limping leg. I went back to Adidas because they really do fit my foot the best. I have yet to try Mizuno but I am not sure if I am willing to stray from Adidas again. We also stopped by Tractor Supply and Lowes so I could buy some materials for a small container garden. I can’t believe I am going to try my hand at this again – we will see if my black thumb prevails. So pretty much we had an extremely suburban Saturday morning and afternoon in the record setting heat.

In celebration of Cinco de Mayo, we made margarita on Saturday night to sip after the little guy went to bed. I forget when I first came  across this way to make margaritas but I’ve been making them this way ever since. I’m sure spirit purists will roll their eyes in disgust but for those of who don’t have fresh limes and triple sec, this recipe delivers.

  • 3 cups of ice
  • 1 can of frozen limeade
  • 2 bottles of beer (we used Shock Top)
  • tequila (whatever amount floats your boat)
  • 1 cup of water (I didn’t say this was a weak margarita)
Mix all of the ingredients together in a pitcher of your choice. Pour the delicious concoction over ice and serve in a glass with a salted rim.

We weren’t super hungry Saturday night so we decided to forgo Mexican food and make some potato wedges instead. We served them with some light sour cream, Buffalo Wild Wing medium sauce, and Marzetti ranch, the only ranch dressing I like. We were able to get our Mexican food fix yesterday at our church luncheon so don’t pity us – it is all good in the world.

Some friends from church hosted us for dinner yesterday and they certaintly didn’t disapoint. Not only was I fawning over the gorgeous details of their house (seriously – I covet their tiled entryway and light fixtures) but we ate grilled chicken, roasted asparagus, sliced tomatoes, brown rice, and a salad that we brought. Clay and I also had Session beer for the first time – talk about a smooth drink! Yet another reason to love Oregon. For dessert we had cubed angel food cake, fresh berries, and whipped cream. Weston loved playing with their son, who is three years older. Their son is such a nice little boy and calls Weston his sidekick. How can you not love that?

I managed to stop the little guy for a nanosecond and snap this picture with him at our friend’s house. Isn’t their lawn so green? Color me jealous. When you have a son on the move as much as Weston, you have to take what you can get. I love this little guy – even when he wakes up in the middle of the night and needs some extra cuddles to settle back down. In fact, that might make me love him even more.

2 thoughts on “Our Weekend – Bikes, Shoes, Drinks, and Food

  1. mollypg May 7, 2012 / 3:59 pm

    Why don’t I ever think to make potato skins for dinner?
    I’ll be putting that little idea in the back of my mind, thankyouverymuch.

  2. mollypg May 7, 2012 / 4:00 pm

    Oh yah and, “I can’t believe how big he’s getting.” 😉

    {I wanted to be part of the club too!!}

Do you have something to say?

