35 in 250

I believe I’m getting my groove back. At least when it comes to writing. So much so that I’ve created a 35 in 250 list. Never one to shy away from setting goals, I’ve decided to jump feet first into the pool and challenge myself to accomplish the following 35 goals in 250 days. Why 250? It seems like a nice number and will take me just over the edge of 2013. And it looks impressive without being daunting, like the 101 in 1001 lists floating around the internets. As far as the goals – some will be easy, some will be hard, and hopefully all will be fun.

Karen’s 35 in 250 List

  1. Make cotton candy
  2. Eat a Georgetown Cupcake
  3. View the sunrise in at least 5 states
  4. Learn to shoot manual on Nikon D3100
  5. Take Weston to a sporting event
  6. Read Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life by George Elio/Mary Anne Evans/Marian Evans
  7. Eat fresh cherries on the shore of Lake Michigan
  8. Go to a rodeo
  9. Do 20 consecutive push-ups
  10. Be the ultimate tourist and take a picture in front of the White House
  11. Participate in a no spend week challenge
  12. Visit Arlington National Cemetery
  13. Eat barbecue in St. Louis, Missouri
  14. Write and illustrate a children’s book for Weston
  15. Meet an internet friend in person (I swear it isn’t as creepy as it sounds…)
  16. See the World’s Largest Praying Hands in Tulsa, Oklahoma
  17. Check out the Lincoln Home National Historic Site in Springfield, Illinois
  18. Participate in a 5K
  19. Knit or crochet a blanket
  20. See the Grand Canyon again
  21. Make a book of recipes
  22. Post five times a week at And Then We Laughed
  23. Host a fancy dinner party
  24. Hike the Wichita Wildlife Refuge
  25. Write and send 20 postcards
  26. Attend a concert
  27. Create and use a Household book
  28. Make lip-smackin’, finger-lickin’, fall of the bone barbecue ribs
  29. Learn to play at least one song on the guitar
  30. Take an academic class, perhaps towards another masters.
  31. Organize all of our digital photos (cloud storage and printed albums)
  32. Ride a bike on Mackinac Island
  33. Move this blog to a self-hosted platform
  34. Write 150,000 words
  35. Pick apples from an orchard

Anybody want to join me in a 35 in 250 challenge? The more the merrier!

“Home is wherever I’m with you!”

In honor of yesterday’s post – Far From Home, I’ve been listening to Home by Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros.

 I can’t help but whistle along. I’m a darn good whistler, in case you didn’t know.

And if you want – check out my article The Not-So-Pretty Side of Life over at the Homefront United Network.

15 thoughts on “35 in 250

  1. What a fun list!! Can’t wait to read about you crossing all of those items off.

    Annnnnnnd, I wouldn’t complain if I was the internet friend you met in real life. {assuming you also think we’re internet friends – guess that’s an assumption on my part}

  2. I want to try and do it with you! I started making a list and only got to 10. I am going to have to sleep on it!

  3. Ah, the “worlds largest praying hands” – been there. My mom grew up in Tulsa and my grandmother lived there until she died. Actually, she lived right down the road from the hands, and there was a long-running joke about those hands in my family, which would take way too long to tell here. 🙂 Looks like a fun list and I can’t wait to see you start checking things off the list! 🙂

  4. I’m excited that a few of those things are happening like 5 miles from our house! Mmm – Georgetown Cupcakes. Might I recommend going during the week – the line is usually a few dozen people long, but they are delicious! 🙂

  5. LOVE this idea! I think I’d have to put actually making the list onto my list! 🙂 I have a big hike in CO and a half marathon in my future, so let me know if you want a running/hiking buddy.

  6. fun list!
    I need to get crackin’ on a travel list. We have 1-2 years to go here, and so much to see! I really enjoyed the “not so pretty” article. I think many women can relate, but don’t say it. They just keep trying to attain a standard that is difficult and feeling like they aren’t good enough.

  7. I can be your internet friend *and* meet you in Georgetown, where we’ll get cupcakes and then go to Arlington (which is incredible). Three birds, one stone. I’d say that’s a win, if you can ignore my lack of whistling skills.

  8. Are you driving through to Arizona? We are in New Mexico, potentially on the way there. The boys could get together for a playdate! Maybe you could meet several internet friends this year. Looking forward to seeing you cross these things off the list, what a great idea.

Do you have something to say?

