Thankful For: 1 – 10

“When I started counting my blessings,
my whole life turned around.”
Willie Nelson

 Breakfast – yogurt, strawberries, and Grape Nuts. And coffee, of course.

Every Friday, Carrie over at Carrie’s Busy Nothings posts a 10-item list for what she is thankful for at that moment. This week, I’ve decided to participate. I hope to make this a regular Friday feature because it would be a constant reminder to live with gratitude. Let’s face it – I need all the help I can get. I don’t know about you, but because I am human, I often focus on what I don’t have or what I want, rather than being thankful for the countless blessings that season my life. It’s easy to get swept up in the frenzy and emerge from the storm, standing on the sidelines feeling envious of the material possessions, experiences, and perceived blessings of others.

This morning, I am thankful for:

  1. a husband who makes a mean chocolate malt
  2. a son who loves to give sloppy kisses
  3. the opportunity to travel this summer
  4. sunshine – it warms my soul
  5. clean drinking water
  6. half & half for my coffee
  7. kind elderly neighbors
  8. squash soup – I’m pretty sure unicorn tears are involved
  9. old books
  10. honest repairmen

We have a long weekend around these parts due to the Memorial Day holiday. No big plans – just working on some projects around the house and packing for our trip back east. So while we’re all eating hamburgers, hot dogs (or tofu-dogs), let’s make sure we remember and honor those for who the holiday exists – those who gave the ultimate sacrifice. We’ll be remembering. Will you?

Flag – Jasper Johns

8 thoughts on “Thankful For: 1 – 10

  1. Yay, Yay, YAY!!!! So glad you’ve decided to do this! I can’t tell you what an attitude adjuster it was (and is) for me. Actually, taking time to be grateful has helped our budget. I’m not as interested in shopping when I look around and see what all I have. That was an unexpected side-affect to this little habbit. 🙂 I am SO thankful for those who gave their lives to protect our freedom – it’s not just about a 3-day weekend, it’s about remembering WHY and standing strong to continue to protect our freedoms so they will not have died in vain. I realize it’s not Veteran’s Day, but thanks for the service of your family! Have a great trip back East! (P.S. I’m sharing a link to this post on my Busy Nothings FB page)

  2. Great post and I love your willie nelson quote at the top. I often feel myself saying “I wish” instead of really looking around and being thankful. Thanks for the reminder.

Do you have something to say?

