And We’re Off…

“Our battered suitcases were piled on the sidewalk again; we had longer ways to go. But no matter, the road is life.” – Jack Kerouac

We’re on the road driving east. Clay has military obligations in Washington DC for the next couple of weeks and the little guy and I are tagging along. Lucy too – at least until the drop-off point in Fayetteville, NC. We originally planned to fly but figured Lucy would love to spend the time on vacation in Wilmington, NC with her grandparents rather than a kennel so a multi-day road trip it is! While we’re no strangers to driving super long distances with a toddler and 75 pound chocolate lab, it always seems a bit daunting when we first hit the road, knowing there are many miles between us and our destination. But I suppose it is about the journey too, right?

Our planned route involves an overnight stop in Arkansas, an overnight stop at my parents in Georgia, a two-night stop in Fayetteville, NC at Clay’s sister’s house for a family get-together/birthday party, and then finally up to Washington, DC.

So long Oklahoma!

I plan on blogging our trip over the next couple of weeks…if you’re not into that sort of thing, you probably want to stay away for the time being. You can’t say that I didn’t warn you.

Do you prefer road trips or flying to your destination?

7 thoughts on “And We’re Off…

  1. Be safe! I’m looking forward to reading about your travels. I’m an airplane type of girl when going solo. But if it is everyone, I’d rather ride in the car. Although I couldn’t imagine driving so far with a toddler and a dog. It could be interesting 🙂

  2. Have fun on your adventure. I think I prefer driving on the way to the destination, but on the way home I’d like to fly because by that point I’m eager to be home already.
    I look forward to reading about all the fun. Can you believe I’ve never been to dc?

  3. Road Trip, Road Trip, Road Trip!!!! Having flown all over the world and been in more airports than I care to count…flying is nice when you can’t get there by car, but if there’s a road that leads to Rome, give me a car (as long as the hubby drives). 🙂 Have a wonderful time – looking forward to the pictures from your trip! I’ve never been to D.C., but it’s on my bucket list.

  4. Give me an airport any day. I have a hard time with roadtrips. I have a hard time driving 45 minutes to go shopping, so you know an hour-plus is outta the questions for Ikea. I’d much rather zip through security, land my butt on a barstool and pass the time until I nap during the flight. I get there quicker, lower my bank account slightly, but keep sanity…which I’m losing very quickly lately…

    But enjoy the DC area. I’m so jealous. And speaking of local hotspots for eating, hit up Ben’s Chili Bowl for some grub! 🙂

  5. YEAH for roadtrips, though w/kids its always a bit harder, I think. Enjoy DC. If you get to Baltimore, give me a call and we will show you around 🙂

Do you have something to say?

