My Name is Karen, And I Love Wawa – Days Three, Four, and Five

Spoiler alert – we’re at our destination and will remain so for the next couple of weeks.

But let’s back this train up a bit and recap how we got from there to here. So last time I checked in, we were leaving my parents house in northern Georgia and heading slightly northeast to Fayetteville, North Carolina.

Before we left Georgia, the little guy feasted on raspberries in the backyard.

And after eating a late brunch, we said our see you later’s and hit the road for what would be our least favorite drive of the trip so far. It only took about six hours to get to Fayetteville but it felt like at least a 10 hour drive. Maybe it was because the route is frustratingly indirect, or maybe it was because we drove through some of the most undesirable parts of South Carolina (e.g. not Clemson). Whatever the reason – the drive was not fun.

Stopping to get a Cookies n’ Cream Blizzard from Dairy Queen helped a little bit.

But just a little.

Do you know where this is?

If you’ve ever driven through eastern South Carolina, I bet you do!

We finally arrived around 7:30pm and let the little guy play with his cousins before putting him to bed. Clay’s sister, Martha, is married to an Army guy, Edward (fun little fact – he is the one that put the military worm in high school Clay’s head), and they’re currently stationed at Ft. Bragg. Their youngest son, Alex, is only five months older than Weston so the two of them have the distinction of being the closest cousins in age. With us living far away from our family, we soaked up the opportunity for Weston to spend some time with his cousins.

Clay’s parents, Meredith (Clay’s sister), Harry, and Alaina arrived on Saturday so we could celebrate the birthday people – Madison, Alex, and Clay’s dad – and have a little family reunion. The last time we were all together was Christmas 2009 (pictured above…Alaina was a stowaway) so we had a blast swimming in the pool, cooking out, taking a new family portrait, and eating. We even managed to capture all five cousins together in the same picture.

Clay’s parents went back to Wilmington on Saturday evening, taking Lucy with them. The rest of us put five very tired little kids to bed and dined on pizza while conversing in front of the television – a far cry from some of the wild nights we’ve had together in years past. We’re unsure when we will all be in the same place at the same time again, so it was nice that we were able to spend time together.

We left for Washington, DC this morning and arrived this afternoon. I drove the majority of the way while Clay worked on a paper so no pictures of our trek. The highlight of the drive was our stop at a Wawa in Fredericksburg, VA. I have yet to live near a Wawa in my adult married life (thank you Army) and look forward to the day when the dream will become a reality once again. Any other Wawa lovers out there?

Sampling of Days 3, 4, and 5 Playlists

  • Solsbury Hill by Peter Gabriel
  • Lonely Boy by The Black Keys
  • Songbird by Fleetwood Mac
  • Con te Partirò by Andre Bocelli
  • Cecilia by Simon and Garfunkel
  • Word Up! by Cameo
6 thoughts on “My Name is Karen, And I Love Wawa – Days Three, Four, and Five

  1. Great picture of the kids! Please email me a copy since we forgot our camera. 🙂 Also, love the song “Cecelia”… that is one of a few songs that I sang to myself on my last half marathon (many moons ago)… that and “All These Things That I’ve Done” which was also recently on your blog.

  2. Glad you made it to DC! I have never made a road trip like that but we do often take the three/four hour trip with the kids and dogs to my parents. More power to ya!! 🙂 Glad you were able to get your WaWa fix. We have a new one opening up about 7 miles away and it reminds me of home (even though I didn’t usually go to WaWa, we were a Turkey Hill family). Have fun!!

  3. I love the outfits! And Weston has the best hair 🙂

    I never heard of Wawa until you wrote about it. I hope to check it out someday!

  4. I’m glad your journey went smoothly. Adorable picture! We are getting together with J’s older brother and fam in a few weeks and I bought all the kiddos coordinating shirts in the hopes that we can get something similar. Because I bought the shirts, had them monogrammed, etc I am SURE that we will not get a single picture of them. haha.
    Have a blast in DC! If you need a really really really really good playground, check out Clemyjontri in McLean. It is amazing and there is a carousel. It is a bit of a hike from Bolling, but you could pair it nicely with a trip to Great Falls Park.
    http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks/clemyjontri/ We MIGHT head here on Sunday, June 17 before going back to Norfolk (my kids are staying in McLean while J and I attend a wedding in Philly). I’ll let you know if we do and maybe we can meet up somehow.
    http://www.nps.gov/grfa/index.htm – if you go to GFP, make sure you take the “long way” and use Georgetown Pike from the Beltway. It is a fun, windy, pretty road. I actually drove that road every single day in high school :).

  5. Thanks for that South of the Border flashback! I was always tempted to stop on our treks to and from Ft. Bragg, just to say that I had, but never did. Enjoy your stay on the East Coast!

  6. I seriously miss WAWA in the morning 55 minute commute to work. QT is not even close. My 2 favorite WAWA treats: Hazelnut coffee and hot Jalepeno creme cheese stuffed pretzels.
    Dad

Do you have something to say?

