Some Thoughts on a Hot Thursday Night

  1. Clay is sick. Weston is sick. And I feel like a half-deflated balloon at the mercy of the breeze.
  2. Since our return from Washington DC, my desire to write and document my thoughts has reached an all-time low.
  3. So I have the urge to sell approximately 39% of our possessions. We simply have too much stuff that isn’t used on a regular basis. And the majority of it isn’t necessary for a fulfilled life. “Many wealthy people are little more than the janitors of their possessions.” – Frank Lloyd Wright.
  4. I don’t understand Google Plus. Or Bing. Are they still trying to make these things happen?
  5. I stepped on a matchbox car this morning, which resulted in me teaching Weston a new word. At least I expanded his vocabulary, right?
10 thoughts on “Some Thoughts on a Hot Thursday Night

  1. aunt Deb June 21, 2012 / 10:15 pm

    So sorry that Clay and Weston are both sick.
    But, I have to laugh at you teaching Weston a new word!!LOL Every parent does it at least once.

    • Karen June 22, 2012 / 7:13 am

      Thanks Aunt Deb! I remember my mom and dad teaching me a few choice words…accidentally of course.

  2. Jayna @ Yankee Drawl June 21, 2012 / 10:27 pm

    – I’m sorry they’re all sick. We’ve been hit one-by-one here this week and it stinks.
    – Nothing feels better than a big purge of all those bits of clutter. It’s like a giant sigh coming from an over stuffed house. Even after downsizing everything we owned by at least 50%, I still find it so rewarding to let go of little 20%s at a time.
    – Matchbox cars are one of the worst. Legos are probably the only thing more painful.

    • Karen June 22, 2012 / 7:12 am

      Thankfully, Weston still has the big Duplo legos. I am dreading the day he expresses interest in the tiny little buggers.

  3. Anonymous June 22, 2012 / 5:59 am

    This too shall pass!

    • Karen June 22, 2012 / 7:12 am

      I swear that is seems “this too shall pass” has been my mantra as of late. 🙂

  4. Carrie @ Busy Nothings June 22, 2012 / 6:51 am

    Google+ is apparently still happening. I have had to learn about it for this new job of mine, but {shhh…don’t tell anyone I said this}, I just don’t get it. I use it, but I don’t get it. Hope everyone is feeling better soon!

    • Karen June 22, 2012 / 7:11 am

      Glad to know that I am not alone in my confusion!

  5. laura June 22, 2012 / 6:53 am

    I always feel blah after arriving home from a vacation. Back to the real world (and the often ho-hum of daily life). Your desire to write will come back back. Hope your boys feel better soon.

    • Karen June 22, 2012 / 7:14 am

      Thanks Laura. 🙂

Do you have something to say?

