Let’s Talk About Faith

Did I scare anyone away with the title of the post? Or did it just make you think of George Michael and supermodels in bathtubs? Let me begin by saying thank you! thank you! thank you! Your comments in response to our loss are just one example of God’s presence. It’s Monday. A new week. A new outlook. And another opportunity to thank God for the abundance of blessings found throughout my life. I think my good friend Jackie said it best, I am so glad you both have a strong faith to lean on! God will help you through this storm and he will be there to bring you another miracle! It’s true. Clay and I both have a strong faith to lean on. And while I am quite open about my faith in my everyday life – for whatever reason, the subject only seems to trickle into this blog only on occasion. Let’s change that for today, okay?

On top of Mt. Scott – November 2011

I don’t know why we lost a baby but I have faith that there was a valid reason. I may not understand the reason at this point in time, but that is where faith steps in. As Mother Theresa said, “Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies.”  Or like Victor Hugo wrote, “A faith is a necessity to a man. Woe to him who believes in nothing.”  While some may believe faith to be a farce or unreliable or unreasonable, I find faith to be the force that propels me forward and gives me the ability to love unconditionally and to find beauty in the darkest of places.

As active church members, we practice and share our faith with other members of our community. Together we’re able to God’s word into action. I’ve learned so much about myself, my faith, and humanity during our time here in Lawton. Faith is necessary for me and for my family. Life is not easy.  But if it were, it probably wouldn’t be worth living, right? All I need is a little faith.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Faith

Do you have something to say?

