I Don’t Glow, I Sweat

I do not really struggle with my weight. For the most part, I am happy with the scale. Sure – I wouldn’t mind if the number were  5 – 10 pounds less but at the end of the day, I have no beef with my weight. I’ve always had a solid build and I know the pursuit waif-dom would be futile and just downright silly. It is just not me. But I am not currently happy with my strength. Or my speed. I feel like I could be stronger and faster. Not that I am weak per se – but I feel like I should be more. More powerful. More toned. I want more.

So to all of my workout fanatic readers out there, what do you enjoy? Any fitness blogs you recommend? There are so many workout regimes that focus on strength, such as P90x, Insanity, CrossFit, Hand 2 Feet, 30 Day Shred, and more, that I am a bit overwhelmed by where to start. I’d like to formulate some fitness goals but again, I am not sure where to begin and how to approach it realistically without selling myself short. Are there any fitness plans that you think rock the breakfast burrito? 

16 thoughts on “I Don’t Glow, I Sweat

  1. I laugh because I’m sitting here, sweating hard, from just finishing another day of the 30 Day Shred. I really like it and have used it on and off for a year or so. There are three different levels of workouts within the shred, so you don’t get bored. It’s a great workout and one that can be done with kids around. The actual workout part is 18 minutes, three six-minute circuits of strength, cardio, and abs.

    Martha

  2. I love going to boot camp classes – I’m such a terrible “gym” person that I need someone to tell me what to do and I need to not know what the workout is before I start. Otherwise I probably wouldn’t get much done. I like boot camp because it incorporates different exercises each day but usually involves some cardio with strength training. Make sure you have a good instructor though!

    Maybe when you move to Tulsa you’ll have some more exercise options – it’s a great way to meet people in a new place too! 🙂

  3. This is a funny post to read because I just finished a walk were I was drenched (and no it wasn’t raining out!) 😛 Then I showered and am still sweating, that is really bad. LOL Anyways, I agree with Martha that the 30 day shred is a good program. I did it for two or three weeks when I first started Weight Watchers back in Jan. 2011. It helped amp up the weight loss since I wasn’t doing anything. But I definitely like that there are three levels and you can move up when you feel ready. I did the video with Eric and he liked it as well so even some guys can get a workout from it too.

    However, I joined a “boot camp” style work out in my neighborhood when I moved last September and did three days a week until March and it was great as well. I was able to bring the boys and allow them to just eat their breakfast in the stroller (since it was outside…..then we met in my basement during the winter). This type of workout is great if you need that extra motivation (which I always do). They have something called “Baby Boot Camp” in State College, I didn’t join that before I left but everyone actually has babies/toddlers in jogging strollers and you incorporate the kids into the workout. So that might be something to look into if you aren’t able to find child free time to work out as well.

    Good luck and embrace the sweat. 🙂

  4. I’m a big fan of classes that include cardio and strength. Also, I love running and I feel in love with TRX (I believe it was created by a SEAL…google it) about 3-4 years ago. TRX uses body weight and this strap contraption. I take a TRX class at our gym and it is probably the hardest class I’ve ever done. Also, I’ve definitely see a change in my arms and abs and believe it’s from that.

  5. I’m not trying to lose weight either, just trying to tone things up. I’ve tried videos but seem to have a really hard time doing them. I just don’t have enough willpower to actually get to the DVD player, plus every time I get around to starting my video, I get interrupted and never get back to it. I need someone to tell me what to do. I joined a gym (seriously, the only way I stay motivated to work out every day is if I am paying… nothing motivates me like feeling like I’m losing money if I don’t go!) that does Les Mills classes. I’ve been doing two… there is one called CX Works (which is a really core-intensive workout to music) and one called Body Pump (weights to music). I’ve loved the both because I get a great work-out, I’m toning up, and it is to music (which really helps me to have more fun with it).

  6. Oh I love this post!! I believe that a daily sweat session is essential to one’s physiological, emotional, and physical well being. If I don’t work out for at least 30 minutes a day, I’m a basket case (ask those around me). I will have to second Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred. Its short, can be done anywhere, and really is a good workout that targets all areas. I thought it was going to be a piece of cake and BOY was I wrong! Definitely challenging. I used to JUST run, 5-6 miles every day but was noticing no difference in my body and the scale. Once I started incorporating Crossfit type of circuits, I began noticing change almost immediately. Right now, I’m big into just doing my own 30-40 minute workout in our garage with my own creative circuits (sprint, squats, lunges, burpees, pushups, etc).

    BUT everyone is different as to whether or not you do better by yourself or in a group, so definitely try both to see whats more motivating. I’m not a fan of group exercises (intimidating, too slow, too fast, etc) and since I’m by biggest critic and competitor, I prefer workouts alone and tend to push myself to exhaustion.

    Definitely mix it up so you don’t get bored. I love swimming in the early morning hours in an indoor pool. Swimming is said to lengthen and tone long muscles, so you don’t tend to bulk up as much. Find a great spin instructor, you will fall in love with watching the puddles of sweat surround your bike.

    Finding a workout plan that you can stick with is tough, but knowing how determined you are, I have a feeling you will find your niche soon enough. Good luck!

  7. I run a five days a week, because nothing makes me feel as… happy as a good run. Whether I run it fast, slow, hills or flat, running rocks my burrito. At Breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
    That being said, I have another love. It comes in the form of “body pump”, “Body works”, “Crossfit”, etc. Cardio with low weight high rep maneuvers. I do that twice a week and have noticed better posture, more strength (even though I’m only throwing around 7.5 lb dumbbells), and has made running easier and me faster.

    Good luck in finding what makes you happy.

  8. Thank you so much, everyone! I already own 30 Day Shred so I think I may start with that since we’re in the process of PCSing. Once we get to our next location, I may look for a gym that fits our needs. I am getting sick of just the running/walking routine I have for exercise…time to mix it up!

  9. I do exercises I enjoy – specifically biking and dancing – so it doesn’t feel like a “workout”. But recently, surprising myself, I’ve really gotten into yoga. It lives up the hype; I feel powerful and glowing afterwards! I don’t respond to the “energy/meditation” side of yoga. In fact, I sometimes use that time to pray! mua haha, I’m sneaky.

  10. I think you’d enjoy crossfit….I can see you getting meanly competitive with yourself, in a healthy way of course! (-: I love my boot camp workouts, there is never any question that something meaningful is going on, but crossfit gives me hard fast numbers to gauge my progress by and it’s amazing to see the numbers go up up up!

Do you have something to say?

