Battling Nerves with Music

I’ve been a bundle of nerves. I’m running into walls, dropping glassware, and having difficulty forming complex sentences without stumbling over the long words. Obviously, it’s been a barrel of monkeys. Hopefully by this weekend (fingers-crossed), I will be sasiated and my thoughts will slow to a manageable pace. I am drinking a mug of coffee as I type this post, hoping it will afford me coherent thoughts. However, I realize that consuming caffeine is probably the last thing I need right now.

A period of transition is always a mixed bag of emotions. But despite the current uncertainty surrounding our upcoming PCS, we’re trying to live a ‘normal’ existence. So last night, we channelled our inner-suburbaness and watched the Jimmy Fallon Primetime Music Special while sharing a bowl of popcorn (our favorite vignette was Jimmy singing the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air theme song as Neil Young).

Music is helping to keep my nerves in check so I find myself listening to music while performing even the most mundane tasks throughout the day. The following songs are some of my old standbys – the comfortable blanket I wrap myself in whenever I need to let my mind go to another place for little bit. I am not claiming the following songs to be great musical works – in fact, some of them are probably considered guilty pleasures. But I still think they’re the cat’s pajamas. They make me happy. And at the end of the day, isn’t that what matters?

Take Me Home Tonight – Eddie Money

{When Clay and I first met, our conversation was about our shared love for this song. Enough said. Obviously, Eddie Money was all we needed to spark a life together.}

Kokomo – The Beach Boys

{John Stamos on drums? Yes, please. True story – when I first saw the movie Cocktail, I hoarded empty wine bottles and practiced my fancy bartending moves in my room. I was twelve.}

Heat of the Moment – Asia

{This song reminds me of college, for some reason. True 80s music fans understand the power of Asia.}

Twist and Shout – The Beatles

{I can’t hear this song without dancing. The ultimate dance and party song, in my humble opinion. Old and new generations like this song all the same, Twist and Shout has truly withstood the test of time.}

Heart of Gold – Neil Young

{Perfection. Absolute perfection.}

What songs are on your playlist this week?

10 thoughts on “Battling Nerves with Music

  1. So sorry to hear you’re a jumble of nerves – but glad you’re finding peace in musical old friends!
    Hang in there. I’m cheering you on from far away.

  2. oh, I hate waiting to hear what is next in this crazy, military life! I would be a bundle of nerves, too. Although when I dropped the container of preserves on the floor and it shattered today (what a mess..) I have no excuse..ok, maybe sleep deprivation.

    I love your music choices. Anything 80’s makes me happy pretty much. We miss the Safety Dance show on Sirius radio on Saturday nights. Awesome.

  3. Florence and the machine…her voice gives me goose bumps…and F.U.N. “some nights” my current faves…O and Hugo’s “99 Problem’s” but I LOVE Heart of Gold…good choice!

    Good luck with the PCS!!!

  4. John Stamos on Drums… triple yes please. Currently my boys are in love with Adele, F.U.N., Queen, and Matchbox 20, (She’s so mean, specifically. I think they’re trying to tell me something when they start belting that one out.)

  5. I know how you feel! Waiting to find out where you’re moving next is TOUGH! It’s like life stands still until you get the news of where your next station is and then it’s a mad flurry of activity to get ready for it. Anyways, hang in there! And I hope you get to go somewhere really beautiful & fun!

    Cheers,
    Kristina

  6. I know what you mean; music always has a way of making me feel better and relax. If I really need some relaxation without kids interrupting, I would take my husbands car out for a ride and listen to his xm radio. My favorites are the 60’s and 70’s channels.

Do you have something to say?

