Sic Semper Tyrannis (A Slight Change in Plans)

There was a reason I included the following picture in the previous post

The other day, I talked about how the uncertainty surrounding our upcoming move was causing me to exhibit Hulk-like strength with broken glassware as a physical representation of my bundle of nerves. Let me share a little secret – do you remember how we were laughing because the Army was sending us to Tulsa, Oklahoma? A mere three-hour drive from Ft. Sill, Oklahoma, Tulsa would have been an improvement over Lawton and I have no doubt we would have made the best of it – but it wasn’t our first choice.ย ย Have you noticed how I’ve been mentioning Tulsa in past tense? Well, there is a reason for the change – we are no longer moving the Oil Capital of the World.

That’s right – no more Tulsa. And I am okay with that. Because the Army is sending us somewhere else.

In less than two weeks, we are PCSing to the land ofย Sic Semper Tyrannis.

Yup! We’re off to the Washington DC area – Ft. Belvoir, Virginia to be exact.

To say that we’re excited would be an understatement.

{oil derrick picture source = freefigitalphotos.net}

22 thoughts on “Sic Semper Tyrannis (A Slight Change in Plans)

  1. Jackie July 30, 2012 / 7:12 pm

    I am so excited for you, I can barely stand it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to hear about your DC adventures!

  2. aunt Deb July 30, 2012 / 7:17 pm

    the D.C. area seems like an area much better suited for you and Clay than Tulsa. Have fun.

  3. Pam July 30, 2012 / 7:31 pm

    Congratulations! I know you guys must be thrilled, and I’m so excited for you!

  4. Mrs. Wookie July 30, 2012 / 8:02 pm

    Woohoo!!! I can’t believe it – can I say I’m jealous…please send some love to the DC area for me. Her name is Mommy McD. And I miss her!

  5. Jo July 30, 2012 / 9:16 pm

    Woot woot! How incredibly awesome!!!! Very happy for y’all!

  6. Erica Robinson July 30, 2012 / 9:18 pm

    Yay, so exciting!! We will definitely have to get together. We live about 1.5 hours from Fort Belvoir. ๐Ÿ™‚ Best of luck with the move, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate.

  7. Jayna @ Yankee Drawl July 30, 2012 / 9:32 pm

    Yay!!!!! This is so wonderful!
    You guys will have to come explore down this way some time, in case you start to miss being in the middle of nowhere ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Sara July 30, 2012 / 9:50 pm

    That is so cool! Weren’t you just picking out a dream house there? So happy for you!

  9. Shawn B. July 30, 2012 / 10:25 pm

    you know I am SOOOOOO excited to have ya’ll in town. Can’t wait! Best of luck moving and safe travels and let me know if ya’ll need anything!

  10. Shelly July 31, 2012 / 4:25 am

    What an awesome change in plans. That sounds like a lot more fun, not that Tulsa was bad, but DC will be a great adventure.

  11. Mandy S July 31, 2012 / 9:07 am

    Woohoo!!! That is much better than OK! <— see what I did there ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Mommy McD July 31, 2012 / 9:46 am

    OMG!!!! I live in Woodbridge!!!! I gave birth at Belvoir! Holy Moses! If you need any gouge, send me an email!
    AND A FEW MORE EXCLAMATION POINTS JUST FOR GOOD MEASURE!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Angela Noelle July 31, 2012 / 9:57 am

    Ahhhhh! I wondered if you’d heard anything definite! That is awesome news ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Super Hornet Wife July 31, 2012 / 10:18 am

    How exciting!! Can’t wait to read about your adventures!

  15. laura July 31, 2012 / 10:34 am

    Wow, what an awesome surprise! I can’t believe that just a few short weeks ago, you guys came home from a visit to DC and said how much you would love to live there, than BAM. It happened! Amazing! I know this may make me sound crazy, but maybe its because you had such a positive attitude about Tulsa and didn’t complain or wallow in your misery. Someone was watching over you and “rewarded” your attitude with a change of plans. Call it what you want, karma maybe?

    You will love the DC area, absolutely love it. Cannot wait to watch what you do with this next adventure.

  16. Charlotte July 31, 2012 / 5:51 pm

    Oh boy! What a lovely changes of plans. You get to discover a whole new city… fun!

  17. Karen July 31, 2012 / 7:49 pm

    Thanks everyone! I am still pinching myself to make sure that I am not dreaming. Eeeeek. I will be in DC soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Carrie @ Busy Nothings August 1, 2012 / 6:18 am

    As much as I like Tulsa {and I think you would have too}, I KNOW you’re going to LOVE DC and I know you are SUPER excited and I’m REALLY happy for you!! Looking forward to your new adventure!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Molly August 1, 2012 / 9:14 am

    NU UHHHHHHHH! Oh my gosh! Remember just a few weeks when you were visiting and you were all, “I love DC, la dee da. We want to live here one day, la dee da.” AND NOW YOU TOTALLY ARE!!!
    Ummm, miraculous and amazing? Yes. Yes, indeed.

    Sooooooo incredibly happy for you.

  20. nire August 2, 2012 / 2:32 am

    Congrats!! When I first completely left Michigan about 6 years ago, I lived there [for 3 years]. LOVED IT! Enjoy!

Do you have something to say?

