It Isn’t a Party Unless There Are Cheesesteaks

One of the perks of being back in the mid-atlantic region of our great United States is being close in proximity to my sister and her family, who live outside of Philadelphia (near where I did the whole middle school and high school scene). With a mere 15 months between us (I am older…ahem), we didn’t always get a long but now that we’re mature ladies, we’re gravy. Unfortunately, Clay had to work this past weekend so he was unable to join me and the little guy on our jaunt up I-95 to the (outskirts) of the City of Brotherly Love to help Mikey celebrate his 2nd birthday – Philadelphia sports style.

The majority of my family drove/flew up to Pennsylvania for the shindig so it was nice seeing everyone again. Especially since this time, we had air conditioning, unlike the vacation house in northern Michigan. Additionally, it was nice to see my brother-in-law’s family again…they’re always good for a fun time – just one of the many reasons we’re ecstatic to now be living a reasonable distance from one of the original capitols of the United States.

Back in 2010, we anxiously awaited the belated arrival of Mikey.

And you know what? He was worth the wait.

Mikey is doomed if he decides to become a Cowboys fan when he is older.

Weston thoroughly enjoyed the gift my parents gave Mikey…especially the mailbox.

No party in the Philadelphia area is complete without some cheesesteaks.

Or italian hoagies.

And such concludes the brief pictorial representation of Mikey’s 2nd birthday. Family and friends – I hope you appreciated the handful of pictures. And those of you who have never met me or my family and probably liken this post to a “Hey, you should come over to see a slide show documenting our vacation to Acapulco” scenario, I hope that my writing style and lack of photography talent haven’t bored you to tears. And if you were bored to tears, I am sorry. Might I suggest a more talented blogger to met your reading needs?

10 thoughts on “It Isn’t a Party Unless There Are Cheesesteaks

  1. That cheesesteak picture makes me HUNGRY. I saw it on FB and thought about it all night. I miss Villanova and our campus cheesesteak delivery (oh, and those healthy midnight jaunts to Pat’s or Geno’s).

  2. Pretty sure that being a Redskins fan is out of the question also. Love the look on his face with his pillow pet! Although I must confess Anderson got the Redskins Hog for Christmas he loves it too. They are so soft.

  3. thanks for sharing the party weekend with family who couldn’t be in attendance. Love the shot of Wes retrieving the mail. What a neat looking playhouse.

  4. Looks like a fun day! And wow. Those cheesesteak and italian hoagie sandwiches look amazingly delicious. We’re moving to the general vicinity in a year and you’ve just made me really, really excited about Philadelphia.

Do you have something to say?

