A Satisfying Lunch

I have not been impressed with the privatized IHG Army Lodging on post. The bathroom hasn’t been renovated since the 1960s, which could be charming if the basket weave title wasn’t missing chunks and the overhead light didn’t flicker eerily, as if to warn me about my impending murder. And the wallpaper in the halls is peeling as if it is trying to escape the despair that lives within the rooms. Okay, so maybe I am being a tad melodramatic but seriously, this place leaves much to be desired, unlike the lodging on Bolling AFB, which we stayed at earlier this summer and happens to still be run by the military. Lesson of the day? Military-run lodging is superior to privatized lodging. By the way, can I just mention how much things have changed since the little guy and I accompanied Clay on his TDY to Washington DC back in June? Talk about a whirlwind summer!

I am dreaming of the day we can move into our townhouse and I can finally whip up a legitimate home-cooked meal. This not-so-lovely appliance is known as a micro-fridge. Popular with the university crowd, the micro-fridge industry is also kept afloat by the hotel industry. For the small fee of $500, you can have your own so you’re never far from the permanent smell of burnt popcorn and leftover Chinese. We’ve been trying our best to eat as healthy as we can during our time in temporary quarters. I don’t ‘do’ microwave meals (the sodium levels are insane and they just don’t taste that good) so this means we’re eating out for dinner, preparing our lunches in the room, and taking advantage of the breakfast offered in the lobby of our hotel.

Here is what I ate for lunch yesterday: Turkey, spinach, cucumber, tomato, onion, spicy red pepper relish, and vinegar on honey oat sandwich from Subway (I cut a foot-long sub into quarters), raw snow peas, peach slices, and a couple of avocado slices. It was as delicious. Before my declaration to make healthier choices, this lunch would have been typical, but I would have probably had kettle chips instead of snow peas and added cheese to my sandwich. But honestly, I don’t miss cheese on my sandwhich at all, and the snow peas (a personal favorite) add a nice crunch to the meal. I also had water instead of a can of Diet Coke. I am not giving up soda completely, but I am limiting myself to 12 ounces (one can) per day.

I know that vinegar and spicy pepper relish aren’t everyone’s cup of tea, but there are ways to dress up a sandwich without resorting to mayonnaise. While I have never eaten mayonnaise on my sandwiches (I can’t stand the flavor), Clay has started to substitute low-fat ranch dressing instead of mayonnaise, and I have heard of others using greek yogurt too. There is a whole world outside of mayonnaise. And in my opinion, it tastes a lot better too.

7 thoughts on “A Satisfying Lunch

  1. I love mayo and miracle whip if I am havig a turkey sandwhich it may not be healthy but it is my vice when I do eat a sandwhich. I hope y’all are hanging in there, miss yall.

  2. Sounds like what you are lacking in living quarters you’re making up for in healthy eating choices! Good for you.

    And what a whirlwind summer indeed.

  3. Let’s face it – does the over-processed cheese at Subway (or any other fast food restaurant) really have any flavor? I much prefer a chunk of an artesian cheese!!

    1. Me too! And while Subway is far from gourmet, it is the healthiest option on post. That is sort of a sad fact, isn’t it?

  4. If you’re working towards giving up pop (soda?), what helped me was drinking carbonated water, flavored or not. It still gives you that feeling like you’re drinking pop without all the bad stuff. Oh, I think I started drinking lots of coffee around that time too, but hey, coffee is a natural food! Love your blog and I like your honesty about the food trials because it is HARD to eat healthy/natural/delicious/easy-with-a-toddler food.

Do you have something to say?

