Today, I am Me.

 

Back in some time ago, researcher Dr. Dacher Keltner of the University of California studied photographs in yearbooks of female students that were taken between 1958 and 1960. After subsequent tests, the studied claimed that the women who communicated more positive genuine emotion in those photographs (smiles and such) had more successful marriages, became more mentally focused, and enjoyed a greater sense of well-being. Of course my explanation is a simplified summary of a more complex psychological experiment, but the study is just one example of how expressing genuine positive emotion can lead to an all-around happy life.

I’ve discussed my glass-half-full (so let’s drink it!) philosophy on this blog many times. As is the case with everyone else, my life is filled with ups and downs. And when I happen to approaching a downward slope, I really try hard not to complain. I know that the gears will kick in and I will be going up again soon enough. So I hope that my last post about our miscarriage didn’t come across as whiny or woe-is-me. While that not-so-pleasant experience is a scar on my heart, I am genuinely happy with my life.

I am happy. Giddy even. I know I’ve said it many times already but I’ll repeat it again – I absolutely love where we live. I don’t think the phrase “I’m bored” has even entered my mind in the past month. As far as our weekend went, on Friday we hosted friends for dinner. I made a pot roast that Clay is still talking about (what can I say, my beef roasting skills are insane) and Weston threw up on me in front of our friends. She is pregnant with their first child so I like to think that we were just showing her the ropes of toddler-rearing. On Saturday, we hit up IKEA, watched Clemson earn another win, and went to an informal dinner party that ended with a Scotch tasting. So I think it is safe to say that Washington DC area and I are going to get along just fine.

Oh, and if you want to take a peek at our main floor, check out the latest post at A Lease to Decorate.

One thought on “Today, I am Me.

  1. I appreciate that you share the good and bad and a bunch of the “real” on your blog.
    It’s a big part of why I keep coming back!

Do you have something to say?

