C-L-E-M-S-O–N

Having attended a high school that did not have a football team (rumor has it that the program was cancelled was due to a death on the field in the 1950s), I didn’t have the idyllic Friday night football experience during my teen years. My dad took me to my first professional football game when I was nine (Arizona {then Phoenix} Cardinals vs. the New England Patriots) and when I was in the 7th grade, my family moved into Philadelphia Eagles territory, so I had a working knowledge of the game growing up. But until I arrived at Clemson University as a freshman, I didn’t really understand the fanatical atmosphere that engulfs many in the fall due to the commencement of football season.

Yesterday afternoon, we hosted some friends at our new place and watched Clemson beat Georgia Tech. And a football game isn’t really a football game without food. The hot spinach dip I made (recipe forthcoming) and cheesy artichoke bread made by my friend (I’ll pester her for a recipe) were my favorite dishes. And Clay is still talking about the boneless buffalo tenders.

While getting ready, we discovered that our Clemson t-shirt collection has decreased dramatically over the years. Time to go {online} shopping. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I love the fact that we attended the same college and that we essentially grew up together. Looking back, it is amazing what we have been through in our 11 years together (almost 8 of them married).

I thought this picture was funny. Believe it or not, the get together was not awkward and we actually made eye contact and talked to each other. We are not terrible hosts, I promise!

The little guy enjoyed pushing a miniature pinscher in his shopping cart, among other things.

But I was also able to snag him for a quick hug before he set off an another adventure.

Hopefully we’re able to go to a Clemson game now that we’re back on the east coast. Football season is in full swing around these parts and the weather is finally cooperating. We used the wood burning fireplace for this first time this afternoon and enjoyed the drizzly weather – perfect for hot chocolate. Now if you excuse me, a little boy is requesting my attention and wishes to play trains. Choo-choo.

5 thoughts on “C-L-E-M-S-O–N

  1. Heard through the grapevine that there is football now, and has been for a few years. However, they don’t have lights yet (I don’t think). No one else is allowed to use the “field”. Soccer now has to play at the new fields across from the pool (not even on school property). There was homecoming this weekend but the only sport actually played for homecoming was the football game (in the afternoon). I hear the new superintendent is all about football because that’s the sport his sons play, hence why there is special treatment?!?!?! Who knows,

  2. i’m not going to lie… those buffalo tenders were quite delicious along with everything else. though that brownie did put me over and i could barely stay awake on the train home. Thanks again for having me over. and that picture is classic. glad we were all able to look each other in the face other than that one split moment!

  3. I’ll have to get you in touch with an old friend of mine (we went to school together K-12) who is a Clemson grad and lives in Great Falls. She is great and she has a 2 year old and a newborn so you can have kid-friendly Clemson watching parties together :).

Do you have something to say?

