A Sampling of My Favorite Christmas Music

The general population seems to fall into two camps – those who like/love Christmas music and those who don’t. And while I certainly classify myself as a former, I am not an equal opportunity lover of all Christmas music. In fact, there are some songs that I downright despise and quickly change the channel in effort to end my misery. But I am not going to talk about those songs today (that’s for tomorrow!). Instead, let’s discuss some of my favorite music of the season. In previous years, I have blogged about some of my favorite Christmas and holiday songs. I have compiled them below and included some new additions for the 2012 season. Please feel free to disagree and add your own contributions…I’m always on the prowl of new songs to add to my Christmas playlist!

D LK121454{source}

Little Drummer Boy (Peace on Earth) by Bing Crosby and David BowieDuring the Bing Crosby Christmas Special, Bing Crosby’s Merrie Olde Christmas (1977), David Bowie stopped by and performed this song with Bing. By the time that the special aired, Bing Crosby had already passed away, making the song one of his last recordings. Rumor has it that David Bowie hated the song Little Drummer Boy and asked if there was another song that he could sing to accompany Bing.  Writers with the special then quickly wrote Peace of Earth, and music history was made.

All Alone on Christmas by Darlene LoveI am a sucker for a prominent saxophone and this song does not disappoint. If you’re a David Letterman fan, or familiar with the Home Alone 2 or Love, Actually soundtracks, then you’re aware the Darlene Love sleighs (hardee har har) this song.

Ding Dong Merrily on High by any choir, anywhere. If there was a soundtrack to my life, this song would play upon the opening of my eyes on Christmas morning. It fully captures the joy that surrounds the true meaning of Christmas.

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas by Perry Como and The Fontane SistersWhile the song was known through the years, it didn’t become popular with later generations until a version by Johnny Mathis was included in Home Alone. It has been a Top 10 Christmas hit ever since. All the more reason that Home Alone is one of the best Christmas movies ever made. Period.

All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey. Yes, I know it’s Mariah Carey (let us not forget Glitter) but I can’t help it (and neither can millions of others), it is a fantastic song, especially when you’re away from your significant other during the holiday season. And you know what? My soldier is coming home in time for Christmas so this song puts a huge smile on my face as I dance around the living room singing into a wooden spoon. All that is missing is the off-the-shoulder Santa dress.

Oh Holy Night by Josh GrobanClay and I have a strict rule when it comes to Oh Holy Night – if the singer can’t hit the high G, we want nothing to do with it. We are not equal opportunity music listeners…we’re hard core. Besides, Josh Groban is awesome and funny. Don’t believe me? Check out I’m #$%ing Ben Affleck. Even though Josh Groban’s debut was at the inauguration of former California Gray Davis, his career soared.  And does it really get much better than Oh Holy Night? Yeah, I don’t think so either.

Carol of the Bells by Mormon Tabernacle Choir. To be honest, any version will do but I just love this one. Carol of the Bells is beautifully haunting and reminds me of the sense of urgency that often surrounds the holidays. I wish I could sing so I could join a choir, put on a robe, harmonize, hold a candle, and sing this song at a Christmas concert. Ding. Dong.

Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas by Frank Sinatra. Judy’s version from Meet Me in St. Louis is good too but I have nothing but love for this song sung by Old Blue Eyes. This song makes me think of sipping hot cocoa while wearing warm socks in front of the fireplace. And the song is true, for many, Christmas is the one day a year where our troubles really do feel miles away. Regardless of religious affiliation, presents, and decorations, Christmas is about humanity and we’re given a glimpse at the true meaning of our existence – to love and to be loved by family and friends.

Hark! The Herald Angels Sing by any choir, anywhere. After much consideration, I have deemed this hymn my favorite to sing in church. After the last note is sung, it really does feel like there is Peace on Earth for a couple of moments. I tear up just thinking about it. Geez, I am such a sap.

The First Noel by any choir, anywhere. My favorite version of this traditional carol is from the New English Hymnal. What is amusing is that for how popular The First Noel is this time of year, very little is known about it’s origins.

Auld Lang Syne by Sissel. While traditionally sung at the start of the new year, this song is often incorporated in the Christmas mix. I am a sucker for anything Scottish (it’s the McIntyre in me) and I can’t help but ponder the main message –  should old times be forgotten? I don’t think so. I am shaped by my experiences and each ‘old time’ is a moment that contributes to who I am today.

6a01053628087b970c012876799810970c-800wi

There you have it – some of my favorite tunes. Tomorrow, I’ll discuss my least favorite songs of the season, which I’m sure will cause some of you to disagree. But it is all fun, right? Just don’t pelt me with fruitcake or dump egg nog on my head, okay?

12 thoughts on “A Sampling of My Favorite Christmas Music

  1. mollypg December 3, 2012 / 7:45 am

    This is a great mix of old & new – traditional and kitschy. I’m a fan of the Christmas music and am hoping the Kinfolk magazine Chrisymas playlist I found this weekend doesn’t disappoint. Headed to take a listen now!!

    • Karen December 3, 2012 / 8:30 am

      I like a good eclectic mix when it comes to music. I’ll have to check out the Kinfolk magazine playlist…

  2. Anonymous December 3, 2012 / 8:13 am

    I believe you made a grave error! Andy Williams is the only Oh Holy Night worth listening to!!! LOL
    Aunt Sue

    • Karen December 3, 2012 / 8:30 am

      Haha. Wait until I post my list of least favorite songs…I’m sure plenty of people will disagree with me. 🙂

  3. keri December 3, 2012 / 8:17 am

    Oh Holy NIght – Martina McBride. I seriously cry every time I hear it.

    • Karen December 3, 2012 / 8:29 am

      That’s a good one too.

    • Karen December 3, 2012 / 8:29 am

      Our local Christmas radio station is relying heavily on the Rod Stewart’s Christmas album this year. Haven’t heard Sting yet on there!

  4. Ally December 3, 2012 / 11:27 am

    You cant talk about Christmas songs and not mention “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas”. Its the best Christmas song ever and always puts a smile on my face when I hear it.

  5. Mom December 3, 2012 / 3:31 pm

    I didn’t know that video of Bing and Bowie existed. I remember watching that special live and it has been my all time favorite Christmas song since. It brings back a lot of memories because my favorite grandfather and I use to watch the Bing Christmas special every year the last few years of his life that he lived with us. Sadly we did not get to watch that one together because he was in the hospital when it aired. He also died shortly after Bing in 1977 on Christmas Eve. I wish you could have known your great grandfather.

  6. aunt Deb December 3, 2012 / 6:45 pm

    As much as I love Josh, I have to go with Bing and White Christmas. Might have some to do with the movie of same name, but I enjoy his voice.

Do you have something to say?

