Boy or Girl?

We find out the gender of our little gummy bear (so named due to his or her resemblance on an ultrasound at seven weeks) this month. Since we found out the gender beforehand with Weston, we’re giving ourselves the same luxury this time around. As much as I love the idea of being ‘surprised’ at the birth, I’ve realized that I’d rather learn the truth in the comfort of an ultrasound room…it just seems less messy that way. Besides, I’m itching to find out if I’ll be rewashing and reorganizing the little guy’s clothes or opening up my wallet into the world of pink (figuratively speaking, of course). So what do you think it is? A sweet Percival or a noble Gertrude? Let’s take a close look at a few old wives tales surrounding gender prediction, shall we?

BoyOrGirl

  • Heart rate. Let’s face it – this one has pretty much been debunked by science, but it can still be fun. The old saying goes that if the heart rate is under 140 bpm (beats per minute), it’s a boy. And if it is over 140 bpm, than it’s a girl. At my last appointment (17 weeks), the heart rate was 162. For those keeping track – girl.
  • Chinese birth chart. The prediction is based on Chinese age and lunar month at conception (you can try it here). For those keeping track – girl.
  • Belly bump. Legend has it that if you’re carrying low, it’s a boy. And if you’re carrying high, it’s a girl. I’m still early enough that my bump can’t really be distinguished as high or low. For what it is worth, I’m still in regular pants, but again, I can’t tell. For those keeping track – unable to determine.
  • Sweet or salty? Easy enough, right? Sweet = girl and salty = boy. Except in my case, I am an equal opportunity craver. My newest craving? Peperoncinis straight for the jar. Yummy! For those keeping track – unable to determine.
  • Even or odd. Rumor has it that the Mayan’s came up with this predictor (I’m giving that theory the side-eye), which is based on a mother’s age at conception and the year of conception. If both are even or odd, it’s a girl. If one’s even and one’s odd, it’s a boy. For those keeping track – boy.
  • Ring test. Tie your wedding ring to a string and hang it over your belly. If it swings in a circle, then it is a little boy. If it goes back and forth, then it is a girl. For those keeping track – boy.

horse

It’s neck and neck!

These gender predictors are all in good fun and obviously not a replacement for a good old-fashioned anatomy scan. Since announcing the pregnancy, we’ve heard, “I bet you’re hoping for a girl” from time to time.  We can honestly say that we do not have a preference (seriously!). A healthy baby is a blessing – no matter the gender. And I also do not have a gut feeling. Before I was pregnant with Weston, I had always envisioned having a boy first so I wasn’t terribly surprised to hear, “It’s a boy!” This time around, I don’t have the same maternal instinct.

Just for fun…what do you think?

images

As promised, your daily dose of Tom Selleck.

Hi Tom!

7 thoughts on “Boy or Girl?

  1. Next week! That’s exciting! It’s just as much of a surprise at 20 weeks, and you’ll have plenty of time to shop for blue/pink goodies! My guess is boy. Can’t wait to hear!

  2. I am guessing girl. You seemed sicker this time and “my sources” say that indicates girl (though, I have a boy and a girl and aside from carrying Connor higher the pregnancies were identical).

Do you have something to say?

