A Healthy Pregnancy – During & After

One of my fears associated with becoming pregnant again was the prospect of ‘losing my body’, so to speak. I feel shallow typing that but honestly, it’s the truth. And I think it is a fear many women have when deciding to give the whole pregnancy and motherhood business a try. With Weston, I gained between 30-35 pounds (by the 8th month, I just gave up weighing myself…ha) and lost most of it within the first couple of months post-partum. Luckily, I emerged from the pregnancy with a body pretty similar to my old one.

DSC03641

Walking around the North Carolina State Fair the day before I had Weston

mmmmm…elephant ears…

Not that it was easy. It took about six months until I could wear my pre-pregnancy jeans and I really had to work hard to lose those pesky last 10 pounds. So needless to say, I am not one of those women who leaves the hospital looking like a Victoria’s Secret model (not that I looked like a Victoria’s Secret model entering the hospital, mind you). Nor am I one of those pregnant women who are magically thin with the cutest baby bump. I gain weight all over while my belly remains on the smaller side – I’m pretty sure my butt and thighs could win State Fair awards.

DSC03704

I think the majority of articles of clothing I was wearing belonged to Clay…

When Weston was born, I never publicly shared the obligatory ‘leaving the hospital photo’ because I was horrified by the deflated and floppy stomach that was left behind. Not to mention the messy hair, make-up-free face, and the “oh my gosh what the heck did we get ourselves into” smile for the camera. Now that I am a few years wiser and a lot less concerned about such matters, I can look at the above picture and congratulate myself for not being in the middle of a hormonal cry-fest and having the decency to put on a shirt between nursing sessions.

DSC_0104

Taken today…just about half-way done!

While I was quite sick during the first trimester when pregnant with Weston, the sickness this time around has hit me harder than when Jack Nicholson slapped Faye Dunaway in Chinatown. Because of this, I’ve been unable to exercise to the degree I did during my first pregnancy. I am crossing my fingers that the half-way mark proves to be the magical switch for me but I am worried that my lack of physical activity will make it more difficult to lose the excess weight the second time around. I’m jealous of those pregnant women who are able to participate in yoga and boot camp classes – there are times when I am unable to put my hair into a ponytail without throwing up. And don’t get me started on the pregnant runners…at least if I am unable to outrun an attacker (very likely), I can do my best Linda Blair impression and hope for the best.

logo_Army10Miler

I suppose not all hope is lost for a decent body after birth – I am eating healthy while still giving into the occasional root beer float and cupcake cravings (what my baby wants, my baby gets).  And my body has proved in the past that it is able to recover from pregnancy with some sweat equity. For motivation, I have set my eyes on the Army Ten Miler. Scheduled for October 20, 2013, I should have at least 100 days (likely more) to prepare for said race once the baby is born. If the genetically superior Hollywood elite can walk the red carpet mere days after giving birth, I think I could crank out a measly 10 miles, right? <—- Editors note – these could totally become famous last words…

sorry-advance-multitude-verbal-away-we-go-ecard-someecards

I suppose it’s fitting that I close this post about pregnancy weight by stating that I am totally craving an elephant ear right now. Not a funnel cake. An elephant ear. They’re approximately 1000 times more delicious than a funnel cake. Damn these pregnancy cravings!

12 thoughts on “A Healthy Pregnancy – During & After

  1. It’s ok to shoot me after I say this, but running through the last pregnancy (and a never ending supply of zofran) is what helped keep me from throwing up so much. I was much sicker the days that I didn’t run, than the days that I did.

    Though, I still lost twelve pounds my first trimester, so I suppose you should take that advice with a grain of salt…
    I think 22 weeks was the turn around point for all pregnancies, so I’ll be crossing my fingers you get relief soon!

    1. I won’t shoot you – I admire women who are able to run throughout their pregnancy. Unfortunately, I am not one of them. The 8K I did when 9 weeks pregnant proved that…if I do run – very short distances are the name of the game. 🙂

  2. Thanks for saying this. I was lucky in that while it took awhile to get back to pre preg weight, I had no stretch marks, and I don’t think I look too bad. Having another scares me, as I fear I would look terrible doing it again. So feel free to say what many of us think.

    yes, I know women that run during pregnancy, but plenty can’t. No one said I could not exercise, but I had so much spotting, that it freaked me out.

    I think you look wonderful, and you will bounce back just fine. You are young and healthy to begin with, and so many women aren’t.

  3. Having dealt with flu the past two days I am even more in awe and amazed by strong women, like yourself, who deal with months of nausea & continue on with life and responsibilities! You are amazing! AND you’re going to kick that 10 miler’s bum. I don’t doubt you for a second.

  4. My goal is the Army Ten Miler as well to get off this baby weight. (I have 5 more lbs to go from September) I do have a bit more training time than you though. 🙂
    Lori

  5. You look beautiful in each photo! 🙂

    I just had baby #2 and am looking forward to running again when my doc gives me the green light.

    Best of luck & enjoy the Army 10-miler! I ran the race a few years ago and it was so much fun! The route is beautiful & the crowd support is inspiring!

    Cheers,
    Kristina

Do you have something to say?

