A Girl

Thank you for all the kind words and warm congratulations about the news of Baby #2 being a girl… I guess we’re about to move into new territory. I can’t help but feel that the parental confidence we’ve earned raising a son for over the past three years is about to stripped down to the core again. And the fact that we’re going to enter the 24/7 sleep deprivation newborn stage again is enough to make me want to hibernate until this summer. But it’s also exciting in an oh my gosh are we really going to jump off a bridge again? sort of way.

While holding hands in the ultrasound room, we weren’t expecting to hear girl. But we weren’t necessarily expecting to hear boy either, if that makes any sense. We had no gut feeling either way, so hearing the technician say boy or girl would have been a surprise.  And honestly, we were just overwhelmed with happiness at each marker our baby successfully passed during the anatomy scan. Those of you who have experienced a healthy pregnancy after a miscarriage likely understand – I suppose seeing that baby on the ultrasound with no heartbeat, no life, and no hope can have that effect. But seeing this baby sucking her thumb and kicking with all her might was just nothing short of amazing.

Bullet points.

  • At my last ultrasound (around 12 weeks for genetic testing), the technician guessed boy based on nothing more than a hunch. Needless to say, she was wrong.
  • My mom has said girl from the start, based on her ‘voodoo’ calculations. She hasn’t been wrong on a baby in the extended family yet!
  • We do not have a name picked out.
  • I’m lying.
  • It’s Gertrude Esmeralda.
  • Just kidding.
  • Or am I?
6 thoughts on “A Girl

  1. I have both and so far the only difference I am worrying about it potty training. I think you will find your 3 years of parenting Weston will come in handier than you think! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear the name! I am still so stinking excited for you guys!

  2. I’m so happy for you!! I think it would be wonderful to have one of each. You’ll get to have such varied experiences parenting a boy and a girl 🙂 Congratulations on a healthy baby!!

Do you have something to say?

