Nursery Update – Pink Accents

I realize that baby talk has taken over the blog recently so for those of you completely uninterested, I apologize profusely. I did get a haircut earlier this week and now rock bangs, but that fact hardly deserves it’s own post (if it ever does, please tell me {kindly} to get off your internets). Before I start posting about topics other than my uterus on a regular basis, I do want to discuss plans for the nursery. If you recall, I’ve already shared the before and showcased some nursery designs that are NMS (not my style) so I am excited to share some of my ideas. I’ll admit that it does seem a bit silly (and totally first world) to put so much thought into decorating a nursery, especially since we’re planning on having baby girl room with us for at least the first six months or so.  But since I love all things home improvement and decorating, I find designing a functional nursery to be one of the most exciting aspects of preparing for a baby.

Desktop76

To recap – we rent our townhouse so I have to keep that in mind when decorating. The paint color is a nice light tan so I’m not going to bother repainting. Hardwood floors. One large window with blue mini-blinds. I am typically not a fan of colored mini-blinds or mini-blinds in general, but these ones do a great job of blocking the light. And since we’re not sure how long we will be stationed here, I have no interest in spending money on a more contemporary option. So blue  mini-blinds it is!

il_fullxfull.170324284

Once we learned that baby #2 was a girl, I knew exactly what I was going to use for the nursery inspiration – Mother Nature by Amy Giacomelli. I bought this print a couple of years ago and it has floated throughout our many houses ever since and it now calls the nursery home.

desktop73

In true blogger fashion, I put together a rudimentary mood board to help organize my ideas for the space. I’ve already purchased and hung the curtains from IKEA (lappljung – $14.99 for two panels) and purchased a Dutailier glider frame on Craigslist for $30. The jury is still out on how I am going to cushion the beast but I have plenty of time to figure something out. I want pink and green to be prominent colors as well so I hope to make some pom poms for one corner and introduce other traditional ‘girly’ elements. The futon mattress will be recovered, perhaps in a white and grey stripe. And I’d like to frame a couple of vintage maps too. Oh – and I am seriously considering reusing the linens from Weston’s nursery. I am not a big fan of the ‘nursery in a bag’ combos that are found at all the baby superstores and I absolutely love the subtle jungle theme we used the first time around. I may just buy (or make) a subtle pink crib sheet and reuse some of the green elements from Weston’s set.

rag-rug-tutorial

And I think pregnancy hormones are beginning to affect my judgement because I am actually considering making a 5′ by 7′ area rag rug using this tutorial from Craftaholics Anonymous. Am I crazy? I am also scouring stores and the Internet for rugs at a reasonable price but have come up empty-handed thus far.

photo

I’ve already started on the bunting that will go above the crib. And yes, I prefer to iron on an old bath towel. Ironing boards are not my friend.  Speaking of the crib, I’ve decided on a simple white one from Target – . I am just giving it some time see if it will go on sale any time soon.

photo-1

Stuffed pink and red lion – $4.99 at Target – post-Valentines Day clearance.

So there you have it, a mish-mash of ideas for the nursery. I am excited to see how it all comes together. Baby girl isn’t due until this summer so I have quite some time to work on the space. Everything is beginning to feel real so I am focusing my energy on decorating so my mind doesn’t wander too far into waking up multiple times during the night and nursing around the clock territory. Eek!

5 thoughts on “Nursery Update – Pink Accents

  1. Anonymous February 22, 2013 / 9:09 am

    Haha. For all three of my pregnancy my obsession with decorating not just the nursery, but all the older kids rooms too started immediately at conception. We’ll have to share ideas (since we are having one of each). I’m actually typing from the car outside the paint store.

  2. crankycaregiver February 22, 2013 / 9:57 am

    I think it’s very wise to put a lot of thought and effort into the baby’s nursery. After all the two of you will be spending quality time in that room..so make it pleasant for both of you!

  3. Jackie February 22, 2013 / 10:01 am

    YAY! I love ‘watching’ you decorate. You always do such a great job! Can’t wait to hear more!

  4. Ko February 22, 2013 / 11:50 am

    Love it all!!!! And I can’t wait to see it all come together 🙂

  5. threelittlebaers February 25, 2013 / 4:48 pm

    That print is gorgeous. I like where you’re going with it. Can’t wait to see the finished product.

Do you have something to say?

