A Little Bit of Ketchup and Snowquestration

I am not a fan of ketchup. I prefer malt vinegar on french fries and I think dowsing a hamburger in ketchup is completely unnecessary. I believe a decent hamburger should have the integrity to stand alone without have be smothered in sugared tomato sauce. But enough about my food quirks – this post isn’t actually about ketchup, but rather a brief catch up on the wild and crazy happenings of my 30th birthday and the snowquestration that fell upon the Washington DC area yesterday.

DSC_0100

By luck of the draw, Clay has missed 8 out the 11 birthdays I’ve had since we’ve been together. Three of those years he was deployed, other years he was TDY, and two of the years he was out in the woods on a field exercise. So while my pregnant state may have prevented me from getting too crazy, I was just thrilled that Clay was home this year.

We bought new living room furniture last week (funny story…) as sort of a combined 30th and 31st birthday present for each other so there were no extravagant gifts to open. But Clay did arrive home from work last Friday evening with a dozen cupcakes and a new Belgian waffle maker so color this newly minted 30-year-old excited.

photo-1

On Saturday, we took Weston to his very first movie in a movie theater. And you know what? It was a blast! We saw Wreck-It-Ralph in a discount theater near George Mason University. The little guy couldn’t have been better behaved so we’re thrilled that we’re now able to include movie trips into our family outings.

photo

Weston was also a fan of the movie theater popcorn.

photo-4

Yesterday, you may have heard about the weather phenomenon known as Snowquestration. The Federal Government shut down (including Ft. Belvoir so Clay had a snow day), schools were cancelled, and a general wave of panic spread through the capital region faster than stores could keep loaves of bread stocked. In true Washington DC fashion, it ended up to be much ado about nothing. We probably saw about 6 inches total but between the sleet and the rain, it didn’t last long. Needless to say, it was a far cry from our Ft. Drum, New York days.

photo-2

But we didn’t let that stop us from enjoying the snow while we could!

photo-3

Perfecting the art of throwing a snowball.

6 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Ketchup and Snowquestration

  1. I can relate to this post for several reasons:
    1. I don’t even bother with ketchup anymore. Who needs it? (Now if I could only get past my obsession with mayo I’d be golden.)
    2. I’m originally from the Northern Virginia area (Manassas and Warrenton) and attended GMU for awhile. I remember the days where the world shut down at the thought of snow. It makes me laugh now because I’m stationed in Michigan and getting a foot of snow overnight is just a normal day.
    3. My husband and I are both active duty Coast Guardsmen so I can relate to the military life.
    I guess what I’m saying is thanks for the post. I enjoyed reading it…and now I want cupcakes, LOL! 🙂

    1. I love Michigan. I spent a lot of summers in northern Michigan in the Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes area. It truly is gorgeous up there! And wanting cupcakes is always a good thing. Unless you don’t have any cupcakes. Then it can be quite annoying. 🙂

  2. Just stumbled upon your blog– Can soooo relate!!
    I’m double your age and when I was 30, I just had my first daughter and we lived at Ft. Benning, GA. Hubby was there for the birth – but Mom had to help me out in the (military) hospital since hubby was the XO and had an IG going on – (counting bed sheets :-//). We moved to Heidelberg, W. Germany and was there in the 80s. Loved Germany – hubby was the recruiter commander and had 7 stations throughout Europe – recruiting all the dependents. But – that meant he was rarely home.With two baby daughters and no car – we would go into Heidelberg quite a bit on the german bus. You do make friends and had a very strong girlfriend group that I’m still in contact with!! LOVE my Army “girlfriends”!! Moved back to Ft. Gillem, Atlanta, GA and here ever since. If we had the computer back in the 80s – I could have stayed there forever!!
    Enjoy your snow!!

    1. Welcome! My parents currently live outside the Atlanta, GA area so we’re down there at least a couple times a year. I’d love to be able to live in Germany but it the current federal budget issues, I am predicting that accompanied overseas tours will become fewer and farther between. 😦

  3. Someone in D.C. needs to explain snow days to Minnesotans. We got nearly a foot last week and I still had to find a way to get to school to teach by 8am! I think I might need to invest in a snowmobile….

Do you have something to say?

