The Day of Pi {e}

Pie can’t compete with cake. Put candles in a cake, it’s a birthday cake. Put candles in a pie, and somebody’s drunk in the kitchen.” – Jim Gaffigan

Being a member of Generation Y (or X – seeing as there is no definitive start or end date), my awareness of pop culture grew right along with the introduction of the Internet as a tool for the masses. So I am unsure as to whether the recognition of Pi Day (March 14th/3.14) is a relatively new phenomenon or one that has been celebrated for centuries. But since I am not one to turn down a flaky pastry concoction filled with fruit, I see no reason not to put on my best sheep costume and participate in Pi Day with the best of them. My favorite pie? Cherry. But to be fair, I am an equal opportunity pie lover. Except for pecan. Blech.

photo

When Pi Day arrives, we can be assured that spring is soon to follow. Believe it or not, there are things I miss about our time in Oklahoma. I don’t think anyone can deny the rural beauty of the open range, especially during the spring. And being able to watch a thunderstorm roll in for miles isn’t a sight many can experience. As time continues to march closer to spring, I am enjoying the {slightly} warmer temperatures and seemingly longer days.

photo-1

On a completely unrelated note – thank you to all who took the time to write a comment and send an email in regards to my previous two posts. While we may not agree, encouraging discussion is always a good thing (said in my best Martha Stewart voice). I’ll admit that I was unprepared for the exposure I received when I decided to share a few of my thoughts on this silly little blog. I haven’t had to time to respond to each email but I try my best to do so soon.

I suppose at the end of the day, I hope that I have not come across as a sanctimonious military spouse who believes that the military is underpaid, not receiving fair benefits, or not receiving support from the general population.  I simply wanted to clear up some points in the article that I felt were misrepresentations. While there are elements of the military lifestyle that may not be understood by some, I think it is important to bridge the gap, so to speak, with intelligent, thoughtful, and respectful language. I can only hope my words came across in such a manner.

Longtime readers, family, and personal friends can attest to my animosity toward the woe is me attitude. I am a loud and proud supporter of the big girl panty movement. As my sidebar states, I blog about anything and everything. While the military certainly plays a role in our life, I am not defined by my military spouse label. As time passes and new blog posts become viral, readership around these parts is bound to decrease drastically and to be honest, I am completely okay with that. As has been the case since I began blogging in 2006, I will continue to write about military-related topics on this blog. But such posts will be peppered among other topics that are of interest to me.

Again, thank you to all who shared thoughts, comments, and concerns. Happy Pi Day. If it were possible, I’d offer each and every one of you a slice of cherry pie. Unless you’re one of those weirdos who doesn’t happen to like cherries. Or pie.

13 thoughts on “The Day of Pi {e}

  1. crankycaregiver March 14, 2013 / 7:26 am

    Strange as this might sound, I love Pie (don’t like pie crust though…I just eat the innards) and I have no idea what “Pi” day is all about. But, none of that matters because you wrote a great post that I enjoyed reading. And hey, give Weston a hug from this old grandma…I want to pinch his cheeks! He is so adorable!

    • Karen March 14, 2013 / 3:10 pm

      You’re missing out…a perfectly executed crust is a wonderful thing! 🙂

  2. Ko March 14, 2013 / 7:37 am

    The big girl panty movement! haha! I do love you and this blog of yours! And my hubby is one of the weird ones, I mean really? How can one not love pie!?!

    • Karen March 14, 2013 / 3:09 pm

      I know! I don’t understand some people. 🙂

  3. Angela Noelle March 14, 2013 / 9:24 am

    I’m not a ginormous pie fan, but I won’t say no to a good apple or chocolate cream pie. Once I had a chocolate pecan pie. I approved.

    • Karen March 14, 2013 / 3:11 pm

      I only enjoy apple pie if nutmeg is kept to an extreme minimum or left out completely. Nutmeg with a heavy hand ruins what would otherwise be a perfectly good apple pie, in my humble opinion.

  4. Debra Sines March 14, 2013 / 11:39 am

    Never heard of “Pi” day before this. But even tho I’m not a big pie fan, after almost 3 months of very limited sweets, pie does sound good. And making this a special day that corresponds to the date makes a whole lot of sense!

    • Karen March 14, 2013 / 3:11 pm

      Haha. You know what I like even better than pie? Turnovers!

  5. Chastity March 14, 2013 / 11:53 am

    I love pie!! My favorites are Cherry and my grandma’s Old – Fashioned Chocolate Pie! I’m making a Chicken Pot Pie for dinner. Does that count as celebrating Pi Day ?

    • Karen March 14, 2013 / 3:12 pm

      That totally counts!

  6. Erika March 14, 2013 / 4:31 pm

    Mmmmm…. Pie!

  7. Jerry Brown March 14, 2013 / 6:42 pm

    Pi day is a new one to me also but makes Mathematical sense. It appears the next true Pi Day won’t be for another 15 years though. 3.1428 theoretically speaking. But as an Oldtimer I would say to Beware of the Ides of March tomorrow. Though Pi Day was today tomorrow must be Salad Day, Caesar Salad specifically. Pass the Parmesan please and as J. Geils Band once sang “No Anchovies Please” Have a “pieceful” Pi Day Karen.

  8. Susannah March 15, 2013 / 8:17 pm

    Yay for pie day! It’s not something I remember when I was really young, I feel like it’s probably something that started about ten years ago… But don’t quote me on that. 🙂

Do you have something to say?

