Two Down, One To Go

This week marks the beginning of the third trimester – less than 90 days to go {approximately}. It really does seem surreal that a teeny tiny baby girl is due to join our little family in July. Even though we’ve been around the block, there is still an aura of nervousness and “oh my gosh, I hope we don’t screw this one up” surrounding her arrival. But the overwhelming emotion in our household is excitement – at least once a day, either Clay or I make note of how July will be here before we know it. And since Washington DC is pretty much a swamp, I admit that I am thrilled at the idea of not being 9+ months pregnant in August.

CSC_0108

I haven’t really blogged too much about the physicality of this pregnancy. I didn’t do so with Weston and quite honestly, I don’t have any desire to do so this time around. Weekly updates aren’t really my style (let’s be honest – I am not a gifted enough to write “I threw up. And then I threw up some more.” in a manner that will engage readers and leave them wanting to come back for more) and I feel downright silly taking self-portraits so it just seems easier to pop in every once in a while with a few words about this pregnancy. Apparently some bloggers fill-out weekly pregnancy questionnaires in order to document their progress – I am obviously not that ambitious. But here’s what is going on in my neck of the woods…

DSC_0107

  • It’s a…: Girl.
  • Name: Not yet.
  • Baby size: Roughly the size of an eggplant and estimated to be between 1.5 and 2.2 pounds.
  • Total weight gain: 18 pounds. I didn’t gain any weight my first trimester (not nearly as glamorous as it sounds) so I am still playing catch up. Thankfully, my weight gain appears to be slowing down again. It can be quite disconcerting to see the almost 10 pound jump I did between 24 and 26 weeks!
  • Sleep: Not too bad. Aside from the random charlie horse, I’ve been sleeping quite soundly as of late so no complaints.
  • Maternity clothes: I still can get away with wearing regular shirts, skirts, and dresses but maternity pants and shorts are a necessity. I don’t think I would even be able to get the jeans I am wearing in the 14-week picture below past my thighs. Sadly, the maternity shorts I wore when pregnant with Weston are too small this time around. Talk about a self-esteem booster…(note the sarcasm). Oh – and can I just say that trying on maternity clothes under fluorescent lights when 27 weeks pregnant is just downright depressing.
  • Food cravings: Pistachio frozen yogurt. Honestly, just self-serve frozen yogurt in general. A Sweet Frog just opened up near our house and I couldn’t be more thrilled. Clay and Weston are more than happy to accompany me when I need to alleviate a fro-yo {I really hate that term, btw} craving.
  • Food aversions: Cheap chinese food. I can’t even drive by a Panda Express without my stomach flip-flopping.
  • Movement: She is quite active. Weston was even able to feel her kick this past weekend. He was cuddling up against me on the couch and his little sister kicked him in the head. Somehow, I don’t think it will be the first time.
  • What I miss: Beer and wine! I have been enjoying a non-alcholic beer every so often, though. And as we all know, non-alcoholic wine is among the most disgusting things our world has to offer.

Desktop87

A walk down memory lane…
I really hope I am able to fit in my skinny jeans again. *Sob*

13 thoughts on “Two Down, One To Go

    1. Thanks! My belly never really got huge with my little guy and it looks like it will be the case this time around too. For whatever reason, I seem to carry the bulk of my pregnancy weight in my butt and thighs. Lovely, right? Haha.

  1. Lady you are rocking this pregnancy! And I have to say I’m so jealous! Haha! I’m a total oompa loompa when it comes to carrying a baby! July will be here before you know it!

    1. Thanks, Ko! Isn’t it funny how everybody reacts differently to pregnancy. And a lot of times, diet and exercise have nothing to do with it. Craziness.

  2. You look great! Try a shot of apple cider vinegar for the charlie horses, works instantly (scientists can’t quite figure out why yet). It’s a miracle. I had to crawl to the fridge at 4 am once when I was pregnant with Jack, after that I kept the vinegar by the bed 🙂

  3. Your house looks gorgeous – I know I’m supposed to be focused on the bump… buuuuut I cheated. Looking forward to “meeting” her, though I’m sure not as much as you are!

    1. Thanks, Molly! I try and do what I can within the confines of renting. While the colors wouldn’t be our first choice, we are playing the hand we were dealt as best as we can.

  4. You really look great. And happy. And you are young and healthy – in good shape you said when you got pregnant, so I have no doubt you will bounce back beautifully!

Do you have something to say?

