Geometric Painting for Nursery

When Clay came home Saturday from a brief TDY, he was met with an assembled crib, refinished dresser/changing table, and a former guest room that now resembles a true nursery. I spent Friday evening painting a canvas that will eventually hang above the crib in some sort of collage.

DSC_0089

A couple of months ago, I painted two canvases with simple gray and white stripes. I originally planned to flank each side of our china hutch in the dining room with the canvases but the finished product looked like prison bars so I quickly abandoned ship. The painted canvases sat in a closet until I had an idea of a graphic print painting for the nursery.

DSC_0092

I sketched a diamond pattern in pencil over the stripes and went to town painting the diamonds in various shades of purple and pink with acrylic paint. Nothing fancy and certainly not difficult.

DSC_0090

I still need to finish the edges (perhaps in patterned washi tape?) and hang the canvas, but I love the punch of color against the neural (existing) paint in the nursery. And certainly looks better than the prison bars. At least I think so.

4 thoughts on “Geometric Painting for Nursery

  1. That’s so very Young House Love of you! I actually love both incarnations–even the prison stripes 😉 Maybe if you ever give the stripes a go again, if you did them on an angle, it wouldn’t be quite so barrish?

Do you have something to say?

