I’m Massively Pregnant. In July.

3942376673_0ee57c990aMy mom is arriving today to help out with the little guy while we play the waiting game. Even though I still have a little bit of time before my [estimated] due date, I am well past third-base and barreling toward home plate just as fast as I can. What is it about the last few weeks of pregnancy that makes time move slower than molasses being poured straight from the jar? Notice how I typed last few weeks? It is all about mentally preparing myself for the possibility of delivering at least a week past my due date. Sigh. I’m trying to remain upbeat and in a positive mood but I’m afraid that I am starting to develop what I like to call the “I’m massively pregnant in July so I don’t give a damn” attitude. It’s pretty serious, you guys. In fact, I’m pretty sure the condition made it into the DSM-V. IMG_1605All joking aside, I’m hanging in there and trying to enjoy this last little bit of time with Weston. He’s been my side-kick for the last 3 years 8 months and as much as I am excited to meet our little girl, a small part of me is mourning the loss of having an only child. I know these feelings are 100% normal and the little guy will be a great big brother. But I will miss having so much one-on-one time with him. He’s looking forward to the new addition though. I think. For the past month, the first thing out of his mouth in the morning is him asking whether the baby is coming today or not. We’ve tried to make him part of the preparation as much as possible but I’m sure it is still too big of a concept for such a little guy to comprehend.

Desktop109

I think I’ve reached a new low – I am now dreaming about alcoholic beverages. The amount of time I spend thinking about draft beer is downright embarrassing. Needless to say, I am looking forward to enjoying such beverages in the very near future. When Weston was born, we packed a bottle of champagne in the hospital bag but totally forgot about it during the excitement of being sleep-deprived new parents who felt like they had no idea what they were doing. Typical Karen and Clay. We’ll see if it is different this time around – probably not.

elephant-pregnant-pregnancy-gestation-period-cute_therapy-ecards-someecards

All in all, I am doing okay. My mind feels like mush so who knows if this post is even coherent but like I said, I have a case of “I’m massively pregnant in July so I don’t give a damn.” I’m sure this won’t be my last post before little miss arrives but for now, it will do. Oh, and my new favorite website? http://haveyouhadthatbabyyet.com

4 thoughts on “I’m Massively Pregnant. In July.

  1. I think I’ll be “massively pregnant in October so I don’t give a damn.” And I’ve had an occasional small glass of wine here and there but I REALLY want a mojito!! Hang in there!!

  2. Despite the endured torture of having to be pregnant in the summer, you get the huge bonus of a summer baby, G-dwilling. That means no 3-layer-how-the-heck-do-we-ever-get-out-of-the-house dressup scenarios, and no constant ‘is the bath warm enough?’ thermometer checks! And remember that sweating + nursing = shedding pounds. Force be with you! 🙂

Do you have something to say?

