Still Dancing

Throughout my pregnancy, my famous pregnant counterparts were Kim Kardashian (Blech) and Kate Middleton (Can I just say how totally unfair it is that she managed to look fabulous throughout her pregnancy? I hate her. And love her). The spawn of Kanye and Kim have already graced us with her presence but the waiting game is still on for Princess Kate. And me. Yup – I am still pregnant.

images

July 4th came and went. For whatever reason, I had it in my mind that our daughter would be born on our nation’s birthday. Obviously, I was wrong. So the waiting game it is. My mom is in town and helping out with little guy, which has been incredible! I am able to nap, take long walks, and do whatever is necessary to get things moving.

photo

Don’t you just love swollen pregnant knees in July?

While I believe that babies arrive when they’re ready, I don’t see much harm in taking part of some of the old wives tale {safe} induction methods. In addition to some of the most obvious examples, I treated myself to a pedicure complete with acupressure, I’ve been eating pineapple faster than Hawaii can export them, spicy food is dominating my diet, and I’ve been dancing whenever the spirit moves me, which seems to happen while cleaning/nesting.

Desktop110

My three go-to songs have been Next to Me by Emeli Sande, Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke (featuring T.I & Pharrell), and She Drives Me Crazy by Fine Young Cannibals. A mix of new and old, if you will. Couldn’t hurt, right?

Now if you excuse me, I have some dancing to do…

7 thoughts on “Still Dancing

  1. A friend here swears by an inducement (I hate the conjugation of that word) massage. And if they have them here, I bet they have them there. I’m signing up for one in exactly 5 weeks and 1 day. πŸ™‚

  2. Oooh… I like the inducement massage idea. Even if it doesn’t work, everyone still wins.

    I played 3 rounds of all-out, no-holds-barred bowling with Matthew. I was pretty desperate to start things and really could care less if my water broke at a bowling alley…. It didn’t but I did go into labor right after that. Just sayin’….

    I hope you don’t have much longer to wait! The waiting game in July just seems cruel. Can’t wait to see pictures of your sweet new arrival!

  3. I hope you see little V before Monday. Going past that due date sucks!!! I have no advice to give. I was late and induced at the hospital. Martha took Castor Oil and that worked like a charm, but she was a little unhappy for awhile before labor started. Talk with her if you are interested.

Do you have something to say?

