Office/Playroom, The Before {My Newest Project}

On the main floor on our house, a room that we call the office/playroom sits just a step above the living room. With great natural light, it is a bit of an awkward space. The previous tenants used the room as an office (complete with one of the largest wooden desks I’ve ever seen) but because the basement is just too damn cold in the winter, we knew we had to use the space as a playroom too. Yay for dual purpose rooms!

DSC_0090

As you can see, the room is in desperate need of more organization. While I like to think that our little guy isn’t drowning in toys, these photos really paint a different picture…perhaps another purge is necessary. And now that we have thrown another child into the mix, I really need to figure out some solutions for this space that are both functional and pretty/handsome/insert adjective here.

DSC_0091

Most importantly, I don’t want to spend a ton of money doing so. After all, we’re not going to live here forever (heck, we really don’t know how long we’re going to be living here period…the joys of the military!). I have a few of ideas – I’m sure some will work out wonderfully while others will die a fiery death. So over the next month or so, I will revisit this room and showcase some of the changes I’ve made. I hope. At least that is the plan. I am still trying to get a handle on this whole having two children deal so I can’t make any promises. First stop? I am thinking IKEA…

2 thoughts on “Office/Playroom, The Before {My Newest Project}

  1. Karen,
    I can’t wait to see what you do with your office area. My family and I just returned Stateside and will be converting the den of our rental into an office/play space. I need inspiration! 🙂

  2. Hi! I have been following your blog a while. I am also Army and have been dragging my wife around the world a number of years now as well. Try searching “IKEA hacks” (most popular result: http://www.ikeahackers.net/) for some interesting and thrifty solutions. It seems like we are always going from big houses to small ones and storage is the challenge. Our daughter and her toys has made this even more difficult. Anyway, good luck!

Do you have something to say?

