Just a Regular Weekend

Our weekend was fairly typical – Friday night involved grilling out and finally watching Zero Dark Thirty after the kids went to bed. Overall film verdict? Eh but the last third was pretty good. On Saturday morning I finally got my hair highlighted and cut after foregoing the routine during the pregnancy. The thought of committing that much time to sitting still without having to throw-up was just too much to handle. Four hours later, I emerged with blonde hair, no split ends, and a slightly bruised ego (let’s just say that the hairdresser was not impressed by my attempt at cutting my own bangs).

Desktop127

We spent Saturday afternoon scoping out Wegman’s in Fairfax. Always an overwhelming experience, we somehow left without eating and buying everything in sight. But we decreed that a weekly Saturday morning trip is in order from now on…it would be a crime not to take advantage of living within 30 minutes of one of the best (if not the best) grocery stores in America. And there is beer. Lots and lots of beer. We ended the evening at our friends’ house for dinner. Morgan let me borrow her Moby wrap to use with Violet and while I still haven’t mastered the learning curve (is there a certificate program out there for noobs like me?), I’m able to wear her while drinking a glass of wine…that has to count for something, right?

Yesterday was very low key – church, frozen yogurt, and the pool. And for the first time since college, we watched the MTV VMA’s. Well, sort of. Thanks to the magic of DVR, we were able to skip the youngin’s we didn’t recognize (like, at all) and watch a few choice performances. Like N’SYNC. All 20 seconds of it (poor Chris Kirkpatrick…bless his heart). We also watched (in horror) the performance of the spawn of Billy Ray Cyrus and just about died from second-hand embarrassment. All I could think was, “Oh Miley. Honey, no. No. No. No.” 

I enacted a new wake-up routine this morning and so far, so good. My goal is to wake up before both kids but seeing as how Violet is only six weeks old, I’m still pretty much at the mercy of her schedule. My long-term goal is to wake up early enough to squeeze in a run but right now, that seems downright laughable. I am not exactly sprite when I pop out of bed nowadays. Someday. Someday.

2 thoughts on “Just a Regular Weekend

  1. Lol, we don’t have a DVR so I had to suffer through the “I’m so old I don’t even know who that is” moments of the VMA’s. When I realized JT was counting down through his career towards N’Sync I had a very serious Tweenybopper moment! I’m pretty sure the entire world said the same thing about Miley. Reminding us there are Famous people, and Infamous people…

  2. Your hair looks great. I told myself last night I was going to get up at 0530 an try to run. Then Nolan was up last night, and let’s just say I didn’t getup at 0530..ugh.

Do you have something to say?

