My Favorites – The Newborn Edition

Let me begin by stating that all of the opinions below are my own. This is not a sponsored post (this is currently a sponsor, advertisement, and income-free zone) and I was either gifted or paid for the following items with cold hard cash. It is often said that babies don’t need much – a boob/formula, a place to sleep, diapers, a couple of outfits, a blanket or two, and lots of love is really all you need to get you through the newborn stage. But seeing as how we live in the United States and we’re constantly exposed to new ohmygoshhowdidIlivewithoutit products on a daily basis, it is difficult not to fall prey to at least a couple. So I comprised a 10-item list of my favorite items associated with having a newborn baby. I can’t classify them as must-haves because let’s face it, they’re all beyond the basic necessities, but the following items have all made our lives just a little bit easier since the arrival of Miss Violet.

Desktop175

  1. Boon Grass Countertop Drying Rack – Gone are the days of the ugly white plastic drying racks of yesterday. I love most of the Boon products and can’t recommend this drying rack enough. We currently use it for Weston’s plastic cups, pacifiers, breast pump parts, and the occasional bottle.
  2. aden + anais Muslin Swaddles – The most perfect blanket for a summer baby. And gorgeous too!
  3. CamelBak BPA – Free Bottle with Bite Valve – Water consumption is key to a successful breastfeeding journey. I carried my CamelBak with me everywhere when pregnant and constantly drink from it when nursing, which makes me crave water as if I am 10 miles into a desert hike.
  4. Laninoh Affinity Pro Double Electric Breast Pump – Just call me Bessie! An electric breast pump isn’t necessary for a lot of nursing moms but the thought of Violet not taking a bottle of pumped milk so I can be baby-free for more than a couple of hours gives me the shakes. Because I am not working outside the home, I don’t need the mack-daddy of breast pumps (Medela) so the Affinity Pro is a great mid-price model for the SAHM who likes to pump once a day or a couple times a week in order to build a freezer supply.
  5. Kate Spade Stevie Baby Bag – When I was pregnant with Weston, I was obsessed with finding the perfect diaper bag. After he was born and I actually experienced life with a baby, I became even more obsessed. I think I bought and sold 10 diaper bags in search of the perfect bag. I finally found it when Weston was 3 years old and I was pregnant with Violet. I’ve been using it since last Christmas and my only complain is that there isn’t a cross-body strap but one can easily be added to the included stroller clips (which I’ve seen a lot of other moms rock). And since paying retail is for fools, this bag can be found in a Kate Spade outlet for under $200.
  6. Motorola Remote Wireless Video Monitor – Violet is still in our room and will be for the foreseeable future. But since she goes down for the night before we go to bed, we use the monitor when we’re chill-laxin’ downstairs. We also like to use the microphone feature to freak out Lucy (our dog). Good times.
  7. Gymboree Bubble Onesies – Mom confession  – I hate dresses on baby girls. I find them impractical, fussy, and awkward looking. I much prefer one-piece outfits. Maybe it is because I had a boy first but I can’t stand baby girl outfits that require a damn engineering degree to be able to change a diaper. My favorite one-piece outfits are Gymboree bubble onesies – cute, easy to put-on/take-off, and most importantly, comfortable for Violet.
  8. Wine – Pretty self-explanatory, I think.
  9. Cloud B Sleep Sheep – My favorite sleep machine on the market. Violet loves it and I love it too! After a middle of the night feeding, I set it to Rainforest to help me fall back asleep. I also love that it travels great, has a long battery life, and uses velcro instead of ties.
  10. Dr. Brown’s BPA-free Bottles –  Violet has a bottle of expressed milk a few times a week. Some people choose to wait longer to introduce a bottle, but Violet has been a fantastic nurser since birth so we haven’t encountered any issues that can occur with switching back and forth (same with a pacifier…we use Avent brand). As much as I enjoy breastfeeding, I also appreciate the flexibility of a bottle so I can step away for a few hours and not have to worry about our baby going hungry while waiting for my return. Dr. Brown’s were my bottle of choice with Weston and the tradition continues with Violet.

So there you have it – my favorite newborn-related items. What are some of yours?

16 thoughts on “My Favorites – The Newborn Edition

  1. Good list. We have or had a few of the same things from your list. I’m with you on putting kids (girls mostly) in uncomfortable clothing. I remember hating wearing frilly dresses that were impractical to play in when I was younger. My daughter is 16 months old, and I can’t tell you how many dresses we’ve received as gifts that I’ve donated with the tags still on. I refuse to make my daughter look like a porcelain doll at her expense. I, too, loved cute little one pieces

  2. We have at least half of the exact same things in our house and a version of the rest that still get used to this day!

    I also dislike baby dresses! But with a winter baby we rocked the sleep and plays from Carter’s.

    And I’m shocked you didn’t include the Ergo – one of my all time favorite baby items. 🙂

  3. Karen, I have a Red Velvet dress with white collar and cuffs (short puffed sleeves) that you would be welcome to borrow for Violet for Christmas. It was bought for Maureen who was born in Sept and had a bigger birth weight than Violet. I have lent it out at least 15 times over the years – has such a classic style that it continues to look good!
    Aunt Sue

  4. Great list! For my newborn, my Moby wrap was key, and good burp cloths (I had a puker for about 7 mos).

    We also swear by the Woombie for those crazy, flailing arms that woke him up if we didn’t have him in it.

  5. Great list! I am due in December and a lot of these items are on my registry. Helps me feel confident we might actually use what we registered for. And while #8 isn’t on the registry I am confident it will come in handy as well. =)

  6. I was going to add a wearer of sorts to your list for a mom with 2+ (but others did already). I didn’t wear Logan much, but 2 and 3 get worn a lot.

  7. A brilliant list! Have pinned on my New Baby Pinterest board. Particularly liked number 1 – my rack was rubbish compared with this – and number 8 🙂

    Thanks so much for sharing at the Friday Baby Shower, Alice @ Mums Make Lists x

Do you have something to say?

