The Army Ten-Miler

This past Sunday (October 20th), Clay and I ran the Army Ten-Miler. Seeing as how Clay is in the Army and currently stationed in the Washington DC area, we knew that running the race this year was a must. As the second-largest ten-mile race in the United States, the Army Ten-Miler had 35,000 runners this year, in addition to satellite races in various combat zones. Needless to say, this was the largest race we’ve ran.

photo

My phone was stolen on Friday morning, so I was iPhone-less for the race, which explains the lack of photos after the race, but we managed to snap this picture early Sunday morning in the car on our way to the Pentagon with Clay’s phone. We (wisely) chose not to take the metro, instead we drove and had no trouble finding a parking spot in the garage at The Fashion Centre at Pentagon City. A quick walk under the tunnel and we were at the Pentagon.

2013-course-map-large-rev

Since it was our first time running this race, we were a little overwhelmed at the sheer number of people and how the corrals in the holding area were organized. I was in an earlier wave than Clay so we didn’t start the race together, which is fine by us because Clay is a much faster runner than me. Especially 13 weeks post-partum me.

Desktop142

Despite starting later, Clay still finished about 30 minutes ahead of me. I am still proud of my performance though. Especially since I hadn’t really trained for the race (finding the time to run with a newborn in the house again is much harder than I anticipated). I ran (slow) for the first 8 miles, then walked a half-mile over the I-395 bridge, and then ran the last 1.5 miles of the race. Clay was waiting for me at the finish line, where we picked up our finisher coins and met up with the participating members from Clay’s unit.

DSC_0176

At no point during the race did I regret signing up. In fact, if we’re still here next year, I want to run it again. While I don’t think running is the most enjoyable activity ever, I don’t hate it and I would like to run more races this year.

2013 Army 10

The Army Ten-Miler is such a special race. There were many participants running in honor of fallen family members and friends. And the wounded warriors were nothing short of inspirational. We’re so thankful for the opportunity to participate and consider it one the many awesome things about living in the Washington DC area.

10 thoughts on “The Army Ten-Miler

  1. Love the race too and had a blast for 5 days childless in DC with my girlfriends! Awesome for so soon after baby, I am a year after baby but made my goal for running the whole thing and was under my time goal. Not sure if next year it will be a couple’s trip or a girlfriend trip again as Burt wants to run it as well.

    1. It really is such a fun race. I think I am going to try for the Cherry Blossom 10 miler lottery with the goal of running 10 miles without walking. We’ll see!

Do you have something to say?

