It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Due to an insanely busy first half of December and crazy winter weather, we haven’t made our way into DC to see the National Christmas tree yet. Or participate in any Christmas events on the National Mall. I have made Christmas cookies though. Priorities.

unnamed-2

Clay is working half-days this upcoming week so we’re hoping to squeeze in as many Christmas activities as we can before we leave for what we’re calling our 2013 Christmas Tour of the South. Shopping! Christmas lights! Christmas pageants! And more!

Desktop156

That isn’t to say that we haven’t exercised our Christmas cheer this year – far from it. On Friday, one of our neighbors hosted a Christmas party complete with Santa, a gift-exchange, and plenty of food and drink. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, our neighbors are absolutely wonderful. And I am slightly embarrassed to admit that I may have made an inappropriate comment to Santa about twerking.

1469913_10201712682313402_1228134578_n

Believe or not, this is the best one of the bunch.

Am I a horrible mom for absolutely loving Violet’s face?

Desktop158

And then Martha and Edward and crew rolled into town around late Friday night/early Saturday morning on their way home from their Vermont ski trip. I can’t wait until Weston and Violet are old enough to ski…I think a family vacation to Vail is in our future. I can totally ski while wearing Violet in an Ergo, right?

unnamed-1

We spent Saturday afternoon and evening at Tysons Corner Center and had planned to attend Zoo Lights at the National Zoo afterwards but sleet and freezing rain sent us home and ordering-in Chinese food instead. If that doesn’t scream Christmas, I don’t know what does.

Desktop159

There was a Christmas Cantata at our church this morning. While I ended up walking around the narthex with Violet for the majority of the service, I was still able to enjoy the music. And even though we’re traveling for Christmas, we still fully decorated our house for the season because who doesn’t love Christmas decorations, aside from military movers?

d556c02c5da411e3a1ab0af82f025223_6

And finally, I want to share our very first personalized family ornament. I get warm and fuzzy whenever I see it on the tree and it’s not just because of the mulled wine.

2 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. Megan December 15, 2013 / 4:37 pm

    Things I love about this post
    1. Violet’s face. Agreed.
    2. The family photo in general. You are looking at the camera. That’s all that counts, right?!
    3. Decorating the house eventhough you will be gone over the holiday. It’s hard to get in the spirit without a tree in the house! I would have done the exact same thing.
    4. You used the word narthex. The gothic cathedral art history lover in me is way excited about that.

    And why shouldn’t military movers enjoy our Christmas decorations? I mean we pack everything in Rubbermaids. It’s not our fault they insist on taking it all out and repacking everything 🙂

    • Karen December 16, 2013 / 7:31 am

      I took an Art & Architecture History course in college that has prepared me well. If money and marketability weren’t an issue, I totally would have majored in Art History. Alas, I was too practical for such an endeavor. 🙂

Do you have something to say?

