To Love Somebody – 9 Year Anniversary

In 1967, Robin and Barry Gibb wrote To Love Somebody for Otis Redding, who unfortunately died in a plane crash before having the chance to record the song. Subsequently, the Bee Gees released the song on their debut album, Bee Gees 1st. For those of you who are only familiar with The Bee Gees in the realm of disco fever, I highly recommend listening to their early recordings which are rooted in soul. In fact, a cover of To Love Somebody has been making the social media rounds due to its use in a Coca Cola Life commercial that brought me the happiest of tears (embedded below).

Today marks our nine year wedding anniversary. Nine years ago today I threw up in bushes outside of the reception hall, fell down the grand staircase, and married my best friend. The highlight reel of our marriage so far includes painful goodbyes, too short phone calls filled with static, sweet handwritten letters, beyond joyful reunions, intimate pregnancy announcements, harrowing miscarriages, the miracle of birth, multiple moves, too many addresses to remember, messy rooms cluttered with toys, and stolen moments that remind us of the two young kids who fell hard in love.

DSC_0313

To the outside world, our story likely seems ordinary. To some, it may even appear mundane. But to us, it is nothing short of extraordinary. That is the beauty about love – we all think our stories are the greatest and for the history books. As Color Me Badd sang, “Disconnect the phone so nobody knows. Let me light a candle, so that we can make it better. I wanna s…” Oops. Wait, that is totally the wrong lyric.  Why don’t I end with some Queen instead?

You’re the best friend
that I ever had
I’ve been with you such a long time
You’re my sunshine
And I want you to know
That my feelings are true
I really love you
You’re my best friend

Happy Anniversary, Clay. I love you more than Sour Patch Kids. And that is saying something.

4 thoughts on “To Love Somebody – 9 Year Anniversary

  1. sparksse December 18, 2013 / 1:07 pm

    Happy Anniversary to the two of you! I hope you have a wonderful day together!

  2. Meagan December 18, 2013 / 1:54 pm

    Happy Anniversary!
    I absolutely loved that coke commercial too.

  3. jen December 19, 2013 / 6:16 am

    aw, congrats guys. happy day 🙂

  4. Jenn December 22, 2013 / 12:06 am

    Love LOVE that commercial and happy anniversary to you both!!

Do you have something to say?

