Thirty One

Whelp. According to the birthdate the government has on record, I no longer fall into the 30 and under crowd. That’s right, folks, yesterday was my 31st birthday.  Clay is working this weekend but he is home, so I can’t really complain. We woke up laughing yesterday morning because with the exception of my 25th birthday, the Army has always somehow prevented my husband from celebrating my birthday beyond a quick kiss goodbye, an email, or a static phone call. I suppose the adage ‘if the Army wanted you to have a spouse, they would have issued you one” lends itself to the annual tradition of celebrating my birth.

unnamed

Upon waking up, I yelled “Let the Facebook festivities begin!” and ventured downstairs where I was greeted to a decorated dining room, complete with streamers and balloons. On my birthday-eve, Clay took the kids out to dinner and shopping while I participated in the military wife tradition of rolling dice, sipping (ha!) wine, and competing for money, so he managed to decorate the place while I was away. Even though I had a sneak peak from when I walked in the door the night before, my heart just melted at Weston’s excitement – “Look Mommy! We got you BALLOONS!” Yes, my husband rocks. And yes, that is a Thomas & Friends birthday banner.

unnamed-1

I have a love/hate relationship with my hair so when I woke up with ah-mazing hair on my birthday, I had to document this extremely rare occurrence. Maybe 31 will be the year for me! The fact that the fuzzy iPhone picture hides the emerging wrinkles is a major bonus.

Desktop185

I spent the morning of my birthday volunteering on post and handing out breakfast burritos. Clay watched the kids in his office and managed to keep the nation secure with a curious four-year-old and a crawling seven-month-old in tow. Afterwards, the kids and I attended a lunch get-together with fellow wives of soldiers in Clay’s unit where I was surprised with wine, flowers, and Georgetown cupcakes. Aren’t they just the sweetest?

unnamed-2

Clay came home around dinner time with even more cupcakes and bottles of wine. We decided to skip large birthday gifts this year and put the money towards our us-only vacation in August. I’m pretty easy to please so cupcakes and wine are enough to keep the pep in my step. He did manage to get me a monogrammed tote bag, which I have been wanting for awhile. I am pretty sure that means I am officially old but I don’t care. I will be rocking’ the hell out of the canvas tote bag around town. And do you see that ridiculously large wine glass?

unnamed-5

Clay’s sister, Martha, gifted this magnificent item to me. It is HHHHUUUGGGGEEEE (said like Billy Fuccillo, shout out to NNY!). I have yet to drink anything out of it (right now it is hosting flowers) but that will probably change during our next neighborhood get-together.

DSC_0384

After we put the kids to bed, we ordered take-out Chinese and managed to stumble across the last 1/3 of Cliffhanger on TV (so many quotes, so little time). My fortune read ‘your life will be happy and peaceful.‘ While fairly pedestrian, it was a nice little touch to an extremely wonderful birthday. The day wasn’t filled with a grand adventure in an exotic locale but rather it was just a simple day filled with people I know and love who took the time to wish me well. And what is not to love about a birthday like that?

6 thoughts on “Thirty One

  1. Sheena March 2, 2014 / 9:36 am

    “Its gonna be HUUUUUUGEEEE!”

    Would you believe we get that commercial here in Western PA?! It’s why we canceled cable.

  2. aunt Deb March 2, 2014 / 11:01 am

    What a great 31st birthday, Karen. Let me tell you a secret: Life just keeps getting better as you make your way through each year!! I promise!

  3. Meagan March 2, 2014 / 10:59 pm

    I’m dying at the HHHHUUUGGGGEEEE reference. Happy Birthday, it looks like you had a great special day 🙂

  4. Jenn March 2, 2014 / 11:11 pm

    Aw, sounds like a great birthday!! Happy belated birthday!!

  5. sparksse March 6, 2014 / 10:43 am

    Happy happy birthday! It sounds like you had a wonderful day!

Do you have something to say?

