Thoughts on Being a ‘Nobody Blog’

Sylvia Plath famously told Peter Orr that she thinks “writers are the most narcissistic people.” If she were alive today, I have no doubt that Ms. Plath would throw bloggers right into the mixing bowl full of narcissism while emphasizing that a blogger does not a writer make (much to the displeasure of certain bloggers out there…). I don’t write in this space in hopes of becoming the next big thing. In fact, as the years and wrinkles increase, I become less enthusiastic about sharing so much online with the general public. I recently turned down a couple of blog-related opportunities that might (big might) have propelled this space over time from being a ‘nobody’ blog into the realm ‘somebody’ blogs (whatever that means…). At first I dismissed my hesitance as usual fear associated with taking the next step, but the longer I thought about it, the more uncomfortable I became with the notion of writing about military life and my children specifically for pageviews.

blogging ecards

I think there are a handful of popular blogs out there who get it right but I overwhelmingly find the personas behind the vast majority of ‘somebody’ blogs to be carefully curated in order to maximize earning potential. And that just sounds exhausting. If an opportunity presents itself outside of this blog because of this blog, then that will be a bridge to consider crossing when the time comes. So for the time being, I will write in this space and do so without any plans to capitalize on my simple and ordinary existence.

Not that I am capable of becoming a powerhouse blogger or anything – after all, I’m not ‘fitspirational’, I’m not a super crunchy mother with plans to homeschool, I don’t rant and rave about life but I also don’t live life through a rose-colored filter, my husband isn’t currently deployed so I don’t have heartstrings to pull, and my recipes are quite unoriginal. I am just an ordinary girl not currently using her graduate school education in order to stay home for a couple of years with two young children. I’d like to think that this space doesn’t fit the ‘bored stay-at-home-mom who decides to start a blog and get rich‘ stereotype, especially because I started writing years before deciding to have children but perception is in the eye of the reader.

unnamed

I am apparently also unable to take a decent ‘what I wore today’ picture.

Because everyone needs to know.

Bottom line – I’m okay with being a nobody blog. In fact, the other day, I came across something the always brilliant John Cleese once said…

“Now most people do not want an ordinary life in which they do a job well, earn the respect of their collaborators and competitors, bring up a family and have friends. That’s not enough any more, and I think that is absolutely tragic – and I’m not exaggerating – that people feel like a decent, ordinary, fun life is no longer enough.”

Truth.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on Being a ‘Nobody Blog’

  1. I struggle with this too. I long ago gave up my dream of wanting to BE “a writer”, but when I started my blog it wasn’t to try to get traffic – it was for myself. While there is a part of me who enjoys it so much I would love to make it into a paying job, I am certain that would change the experience for me, and I’m not sure I want it to go from a fun outlet to just another thing that HAS to get done.

  2. Hey lady, I happen to really like your ‘nobody’ blog! It’s refreshing to see another Army wife’s perspective on things in the military and with life in general without all the ads and sponsored posts getting in the way. Also, I’ve showed my husband your MI posts and have him halfway convinced to take a kid-free vacay there in the next couple of years 🙂

  3. I see a button down below that says you are a Top Mommy Blog! You’re definitely somebody! I can’t imagine being on the money-making side of blogging though- to write on demand and a schedule, that is too much for me to wrap my brain around at this point. I recently got an email asking me if I would share my thoughts on “manscaping” and what I thought were good looks for hot guys. So it sounds like you’re getting more respectable traffic than me. 😉

  4. You know, it’s really refreshing to find another blogger that shares my attitude toward blogging (but who blogs way more regularly so I can have good stuff to read while I don’t blog 😉 ). Keep on keepin’ on!

Do you have something to say?

