Happy Mother’s Day!

Say what you will about the commercialization of Mother’s Day, but I think taking a moment to show appreciation for the mothers (and mother-figures) in our lives is a sweet and lovely gesture. Showing gratitude can be done without overpriced cards or marked-up flowers. And yes, while we should treat our mothers like everyday is Mother’s Day, there is nothing wrong with saying, “Thank you, Mom” on this designated day.

photo-7

Since I am the oldest of four and the age difference between me and my youngest sibling is only 5 years, our household was quite crazy growing up (not in a bad way!). To be honest, it still is when we all get together. I didn’t have a storybook relationship with my mother growing up – probably because our interests are night and day. But I have never doubted her love for me. She has always been there for me and despite not always agreeing with my decisions (e.g. going so far away for college) she has given me support. She dropped everything to help out after my own children were born – even taking Weston on a mini-vacation after we brought Violet home from the hospital so we could focus solely on her for a couple of days. I hope she knows just how much I appreciate and love her!

DSCF3505

And I can’t forget about my mother-in-law (this picture was taken over 6 years ago when we showed up to a family event wearing strikingly similar outfits). I’ve been incredibly blessed to have married into a warm and loving family. I’ve never been made to feel like an outsider (even with my undying love for hummus) and her support with Weston during his first year while Clay was deployed is something in which I’ll forever be indebted. She is an incredible grandmother to our children and she has been nothing but kind and loving toward me throughout the years.

Desktop196

Notice the difference in cell-phone camera technology in 2009 and 2013?

And of course, now that I am a mother myself, this day takes on a whole new meaning. Bring on the breakfast in bed, handmade gifts, and sweet little gestures of love (just don’t take me out to brunch at a crowded restaurant on Mother’s Day). While there are days that I dream of that evening glass of wine, I absolutely adore being a mother to my children. I hope as they grow that they never doubt my love for them and know that I will always be their biggest cheerleader as they find their way in this crazy life.

IMG_1939

There is a saying floating around on the internet that a mother is a person who upon seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces that she never did care for pie. That pretty much sums up how I feel about my children.

photo

My wonderful husband has turned this weekend into a Mother’s Day celebration. Yesterday morning, he woke up with the kids at 6:00am and then made a pancake breakfast. We went on a hike through the woods with Lucy and much to our delight, even got caught in a rain shower. Weston surprised me with flowers and chocolate cake and never missed an opportunity to wish me ‘happy mom’s day‘.  Today will involve church in the morning and an outing to minor league baseball game in the afternoon – my kind of Mother’s Day celebration – simple and full of love.

photo-2

I’m sorry but I also can’t resist showing off the handmade gifts I received this year. This beautiful macaroni and wooden fish necklace made with electric blue yarn magically matches any outfit, probably because it was made with love. The little guy gave it to me early because he just couldn’t wait. He just beams with pride when I wear it and is always straightening the fish for me.

photo1

I can’t help but laugh when I look at this flower he made for me at preschool. Between the silly face in the picture and the quite materialistic note of love, it pretty much captures four-year-old Weston. As far as our baby girl, Violet insisted I get up every couple of hours last night, just so she could spent time with me in the early morning hours of Mother’s Day – at least that is what I am telling myself.

232323232fp345>nu=3279>;7;>999>WSNRCG=32338-;95;8-6nu0mrj

And while this may seem silly, I can’t write a Mother’s Day post without mentioning Lucy. She was my first baby and in many ways, it feels like I have three children instead of two and a dog. This lovable chocolate lab will always have a special place in my heart.

IMG_1687

To all the women out there – Happy Mother’s Day. Our lives aren’t always glamorous and we shed more tears than we should. But at the end of the day, love is what really matters during our time on earth. And the love that we feel toward our mothers and our children is nothing short of amazing.

4 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Anonymous May 11, 2014 / 8:11 am

    Fur babies are just as important to our lives as mothers as our human babies – unconditional love, no arguing, and most of the time they mind better! Happy Mother’s Day, Karen! Oh, and they entertain the kids!

  2. Anonymous May 11, 2014 / 8:11 am

    Sorry, that was from Aunt Sue

  3. Mommy McD May 11, 2014 / 11:03 am

    Go P-nats! Today is a great day for a game!

Do you have something to say?

