{Almost} Another School Year Complete

The little guy ‘graduates’ from his three-day-a-week preschool program this week. Because he has an early fall birthday, he will go to preschool again next year rather than kindergarten. Even though this means another full year of paying five-day-a-week preschool tuition, I am happy to have the extra year at home with him. After all, he is still is (and always will be) my baby boy.

Desktop197

I’ll admit that I am starting to get just the tiniest bit anxious about kindergarten due to the fact that we slated to move a couple of weeks before he would start next summer. There is a myriad of places we could go but our top choices involve just a one-year assignment. So if we had it our way, the little guy would start kindergarten at a new location, we would move again the following summer, and he would attend first grade at another new location. This occurrence is quite common among military families so we’re certainly not unique in that regard (I like to think I am at least a little unique in other regards…) but I can’t help but wonder (oh my goodness – did I really just type that?) if the transient lifestyle Clay and I enjoy so much will negatively impact our children as they begin their formal education.

On the other hand, I am a firm believer that education doesn’t end outside the classroom. In fact, most of what we learn occurs outside of formal instruction. It is important to us that we travel with our kids and allow them to see as much of our country and the world as we can reasonably afford – broaden their horizons, if you will. Our children will not have the opportunity to call the same house home throughout their childhood or live in the same town, county, state (possibly country) as their grandparents and cousins. And that is okay. We chose this life and hope that as adults, our children will appreciate the opportunities and adventures that accompany having a father in the Army. But every so often there are the brief moments of doubt that cause my mind to race and have me imagining an authoritarian figure lecturing me on the importance of childhood stability and comfort.

In many ways, being associated with the military has afforded me many lessons surrounding the adage of ‘let go and let God‘. I assume this particular case is no different.  At the end of the day, we have to step back and take comfort in the bigger picture. Our children are loved and will continue to have the opportunity to experience different places, to learn the importance of flexibility, and (hopefully) enjoy the ride. And that doesn’t sound like a bad deal to me.

4 thoughts on “{Almost} Another School Year Complete

  1. Sara May 20, 2014 / 1:33 am

    Speaking as someone who has had seven different “hometowns” in the US and has lived abroad for nearly a decade (and I know you moved around a bit as a kid also), I’d just like to remind you that frequent moves can also be incredibly beneficial to a kid’s upbringing. They build confidence, social skills, a sense of adventure, and aside from moving in middle school (which is awkward for everyone anyway) are a lot of fun. I wouldn’t have my childhood any other way!

  2. arobinsc May 20, 2014 / 6:22 am

    Hi Karen! I had run across your blog when you posted on FB one time and ran across it again this am – just love these pics of the first and last day of school!! And I just have to say that going to college (8 hours from home) was a super stressful time for me and it continued throughout my freshman/soph year – I think partially bc I had never moved once before. My close friends from home who were from military families were able to be excited and make the transition with much less drama than I was!

  3. Jen May 20, 2014 / 9:32 am

    oh, he has grown so much in short amount of time!

    The moving around school start dates makes me anxious, too. We want the transition to be as smooth as possible for our children.

    I like to think that the moving and meeting new people impacts children positively (at least while they are young, I am not sure about middle and high school…).

    • Karen May 21, 2014 / 11:13 am

      That is what I tell myself as well…

Do you have something to say?

