The Quest for Effortlessly Casual

I didn’t put on any make-up yesterday since it’s {unofficially} summer and I’ve been regularly using my moisturizing face sunless tanner. I thought I looked okay. Unfortunately, I was asked by three separate people if I felt okay and if I was getting enough sleep. So that’s nice. My daily make-up routine is less than five-minutes and consists of mainly ULTA products (i.e. not expensive) but apparently it is necessary for ensuring that I don’t look like death warmed over.

photo My right eye sort of looks like Marty Feldman’s.

Make-up and hair are not my areas of expertise. I use cheap drug store shampoo and conditioner with the occasional coconut oil treatment because they get the job done without requiring a second mortgage. As long as my hair is a shade of dark blonde, I’m happy. And I don’t even own a hair straightener anymore. My make-up stash is minimal and I still have been unable to master the art of using liquid eyeliner. And I think my eyebrows could use some help. Basically, I can be a hot mess at times.

That being said, I am still as vain as the next person. I care about what I look like and constantly work toward not looking like that mom. You know – the one wearing mom jeans/shorts, with a mom haircut, and carrying a mom purse (I’m 1 for 3 – my purse is a diaper bag. A very nice diaper bag but still a diaper bag). I briefly flirted with cutting my hair short a couple of years ago but thankfully snapped out of it because an ill-fated 9th grade haircut that left me resembling a mushroom. I once had a college friend tell me that long hair on women over 30 is unbecoming and reeks of desperation. She was the epitome of old school southern charm and since I am obviously not a debutante, I’m okay with bucking that particular hair rule.

1364322487_reese-witherspoon-jim-toth-ava-deacon-lg

This is how I picture our family outings.

My ultimate goal is to look effortlessly casual with perfect hair and make-up. An unattainable goal, sure, but a goal nonetheless. I like to think that I look better with age – I might as well capitalize on that. Currently, I like to wear breezy dresses and regular shorts because cute bermudas make my knees look like swollen weapons. I keep searching for a maxi dress that isn’t too short or doesn’t make me look five months pregnant but have come up empty handed. Apparently I am not meant to be that cool. And obviously I should wear at least a little bit of make-up when out and about to discourage concern about my well-being. I am a constant work-in-progress. So what are some of your favorite effortlessly casual beauty and wardrobe tricks? Please share!

12 thoughts on “The Quest for Effortlessly Casual

  1. Reese looks effortlessly casual because her children don’t still need assistance with wiping their behinds.

    It’s (probably…) easy to look fab once you’re out of the poop-covered phase. 😉

  2. I wear more and more makeup with each passing year but I’ve recently come to rely heavily on Bare Minerals powder foundation and to wear lipstick everywhere but the gym. Mascara has been a must for me for years now.

    One tip: Liquid eyeliner is NOT something you want to cheap out on. I use Lorac (about $20 a pop) and the quality is worlds away from the kind that costs $5.

  3. First off, bermuda shorts are the worst thing ever besides the midi skirt (ick!). There is no reason to ever wear either item.

    If you find this elusive maxi skirt for the tall woman please do share where it is. Since they combine the fanciness of a skirt with the comfort of yoga pants I want to start wearing them but cannot for the life of me find one long enough.

    Oh and I use Aveda inner light tinted moisturizer on my face, I think it works pretty well! It’s a little spendy ($28 I think) but it lasts forever and it’s really the only makeup you need. At least, it’s the only makeup I use besides mascara on a daily basis. Also, apparently even though I’m 30 I still get acne (what?) and since I started using it it’s cleared up almost completely.

  4. My effortlessly casual trick? Hehe. My hair is always either in a bun or a ponytail and the only thing I tend to put on my face is Coppertone Sensitive Skin spf 50. I’m on the opposite end of the maxi skirt problem though, at 5’2” I can never find one that I’m not tripping on!

  5. I think you always look cute! Although, I also cannot leave the house without makeup on or I totally get judged. And I totally wear my maternity maxis all the time, just.so.comfy.

    1. I still wear a maternity sundress that I never stopped wearing since I was pregnant with Weston. Maybe I should just rock a maternity maxi dress. 🙂

  6. These days I’m mostly rocking workout clothes and looking sweaty. So I’ve been very low maintenance, but I find a little lip gloss/ lipstick makes me feel like I look a little better. If I’m really desperate I’ll add blush and maybe mascara. It’s rare though that I look put together out of workout clothes.

Do you have something to say?

