What I Am Reading

The {not-so} lazy days of summer are long gone. Our summer travel is a distant memory as we’re settling into our new routine. I find myself becoming more and more content as our calendar becomes filled with school obligations, sports, volunteer opportunities, and church activities. It’s no secret that I sometimes struggle with my identity during this chunk of time that I’m choosing to stay at home with the kids. So I see the danger of determining my self-worth based on the number of items on my to-do list. But I can’t help it – I think I’m at my best during days full of boxes to check.

And on a completely unrelated note –

  • I am re-reading Gone Girl. Like many others, I enjoyed the book until the ending. But maybe that is the point. I hope to have a more clear opinion of the book either way upon reading it a second time. Clay is a big David Fincher fan (I fancy his work as well – especially Zodiac), so we’ll make an effort to see Gone Girl, the movie, in theaters in October.
  • Tim Urban over at Wait But Why wrote a fantastic blog post about Iraq and ISIS – From Muhammad to ISIS: Iraq’s Full Story. Wait But Why does what the 24-hour news cycle can’t – actually showcase how an extremist group like ISIS came to be, without resorting to soundbites or political mudslinging.
  • Meanwhile, Michael Smerconish (host of The Michael Smerconish Program and columnist for Philadelphia Inquirer) argues that the American people are owed a ‘straightforward up or done vote’ when acts of war are involved – The Pulse: Congress Needs to Take a Stand on ISIS Fight.
  • Back in April, Jamie, The Very Worst Missionary wrote a piece about ‘mommy bloggers’ of young children. I am not a fan of mommy bloggers and find the subject matter terribly dull (sippy cups! diapers! carseats! Bento lunches!) so I very much enjoyed her take on the subculture – I Worry for Mommy Bloggers.
6 thoughts on “What I Am Reading

  1. Elisa Preston September 17, 2014 / 9:48 pm

    I don’t feel like I have anything to offer in way of encouragement, except to say that even though I don’t have children I can identify with your opening on his post. I can see myself feeling that way in the near future when/if we do have children. Also, I’m at part-time this yr instead of full time (school system), and I always feel the need to rush to justify it to others. I actually worked on a scripted response that made me feel as though I explained the situation, but also kept my dignity in tact. We need to remember that placing our worth in the hands of others is dangerous. We know our story. Anyway… Thanks for posting! I enjoyed the rest, too.

    • Karen September 18, 2014 / 8:26 am

      You hit the nail on the head – I feel like I need to rush to justify my working situation right now, almost as if I am speaking short hand (e.g. husband’s job has insane hours, two kids in daycare in DC = $$$$, etc…). And you’re right – placing our worth in the hands of others is extremely dangerous. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Mommy McD September 18, 2014 / 6:26 am

    Blergh to “Gone Girl”. I mean, it was totally engaging, but the conclusion of it all left a sour taste in my mouth. (Which, indeed, was the point – at least according to Gillian Flynn.)

    • Karen September 18, 2014 / 8:26 am

      Not only did the ending leave a sour taste in my mouth, I find the last couple of chapters to be more rushed than the rest of the book. Very frustrating.

      • Mommy McD September 18, 2014 / 4:46 pm

        Like she ran out of all the words, right? Completely agree!

  3. Anonymous September 25, 2014 / 10:29 am

    I (a voracious reader) had a very difficult time getting into Gone Girl and then after forcing myself through it, hated how it ended! I rarely go to a movie of a book I’ve read – always disappointed in the movie version – except for the Tom Clancy and John Grisholm ones which follow the books very well!
    Aunt Sue

Do you have something to say?

