Embracing Discomfort

6887730721_f5635e7c91_o{source}

A ship in the harbor is safe. But that’s not what a ship is built for.

Locating the origins of one of my favorite quotes has proved to be difficult. It’s been attributed to a theologian, a department store founder, a one-book author, and even anonymous himself, which is a shame because it really is quite fantastic. Lately I’ve been wondering if I’ve been become too comfortable in my proverbial harbor. I can’t help but think that I am avoiding discomfort a little too much – taking the easy path, so to speak. One of my biggest fears is not taking advantage of the opportunities lobbed my way – softballs just waiting to be knocked out of the park. But I also fear not putting forth the effort to search out the opportunities that aren’t as easily found – the one’s that require more work than just swinging the bat at the right time (enough with the softball analogies already…sheesh). As I make plans to re-enter the work force in the near future, I need to think of myself as a ship – a ship that shouldn’t spend more time in the harbor than necessary. I just need to figure out where I want to go. And not being caught off-guard when the umpire yells “Batter up!” (okay, one more).

6 thoughts on “Embracing Discomfort

    1. Woot woot! I am currently volunteering my (not so little) bum off and in holding mode until we know where the Army is sending us next. And then it is game on!

  1. I agree. I am both excited and nervous to go back to work. Now that I finally got my RN license here, I feel like I really have to figure out how to make this work.

    Good luck to you – I think it’s really exciting 🙂

Do you have something to say?

