Out Into the Void

I’m watching You’ve Got Mail as I type this post. Easily one of my top five favorite movies, I’ve lost count over the years how many times I’ve seen Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan foster a courtship over email – a surprisingly dated subject given the social media-obsessed world we find ourselves in today. But this isn’t a post about You’ve Got Mail. Or maybe it is. To be honest, I’m not quite sure why I decided to start writing tonight. It just seemed like a good idea, I suppose.

Not that this blog has seen a lot of activity as of late. And with the (unfounded?) threat from the terror-group-of-the-day, other non-anonymous bloggers who happen to be military spouses are making their blogs private or throwing in the towel completely. I have no desire to go private – I seem to be an all-or-nothing type, so I’m left in this state of limbo that has me questioning whether it’s best to stop publicly writing about my little life.

“Sometimes I wonder about my life. I lead a small life – well, valuable, but small – and sometimes I wonder, do I do it because I like it, or because I haven’t been brave? So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around? I don’t really want an answer. I just want to send this cosmic question out into the void. So good night, dear void.”

Meg Ryan wrote the following in an email (what else?) to Tom Hanks. It’s pretty much sums up…everything. My desire to make sure I’m not left observing life from the sidelines. And why I started a public blog in the first place – the opportunity to send thoughts out into the void.

Hi, void <waves hand while sporting an eager smile>.

Youve-Got-Mail_610

Sigh. It really is a perfect movie. Great cast, including Greg Kinear, who is always awesome. And can I just say how refreshing it is to watch a female lead in a romantic comedy wear clothes that don’t show the fine china?

9 thoughts on “Out Into the Void

  1. I have actually never seen that movie. And now I want to.

    I know what you mean, blogging seems so…2009 or something. It got “trendy”, maybe? I only read a handful, and even deleted the bloglovin’ notifications I was getting. It was just too..much. I don’t even know how to describe it. Sensory overload.

    You, and a few others, remain real, and speak to me, so please keep typing! 🙂

    1. Awwww, thanks Jen. If you have Netflix, You’ve Got Mail is on there right now. You NEED to watch it. I like it a lot better than Sleepless in Seattle.

  2. Hi Karen,

    You’ve Got Mail is one of my favorites, too! So is Baby Boom–which I have on right now. 🙂
    I hope you continue to write and to share your thoughts/goings-on with us. I don’t generally comment on your posts, but I read them all. I think you write beautifully, and I always look forward to reading your latest news.

    All my best,

    Trina

    1. Trina, I like Baby Boom as well. I remember when it played constantly on TBS (back during the 5 minutes later start time days) when I was a kid. As far as 80’s/early 90’s rom-coms, I also like Say Anything (of course), He Said, She Said with Kevin Bacon and Elizabeth Perkins, She’s Having a Baby (another Kevin Bacon film), Forget Paris, and Groundhog Day.

      And I think I may be the only woman who can’t stand Pretty Woman. Hate. It. So. Much.

      1. How could I have let Forget Paris slip my mind? Such a great movie! I need to see if it’s on Netflix.

        And it’s ok to not like Pretty Woman. 🙂 I remember really liking it in high school, but when I think of 90’s rom/coms now, it doesn’t even register as one of the “must see” movies of that decade; not like the other movies you mentioned — which are so great.

        Say Anything is one of my favorites, and I can’t wait to watch it with my daughter when she’s old enough.

  3. You’ve Got Mail and Sleepless in Seattle are at the top of your uncle Dannys movie lists. He will watch them every time he sees they are on TV.

  4. For the record, I hate private blogging So.Much. Kev was pretty adamant that I switch over and I had to respect him for it, especially while he is gone. But, oh how I loathe it. I am hoping that once he gets home and our life resumes to normal I just turn it back it. Life is better shared, even among the vast internets.

Do you have something to say?

