Goals for the Year

Seeing as how we’re well into the second week of January and I am nothing but a trendsetter, I thought I’d write about goals. Although, I’m not sure if my resolutions goals are particularly worthy of unleashing to the general public because I’m not exactly someone who one turns to for inspiration. For example, Clay is TDY so I am writing this post wearing Christmas pajamas (so comfy) while sitting on the couch watching my spirit animals host the Golden Globes, complete with popcorn and a Yuengling – total #beastmode (am I even allowed to use that hashtag?). So without further ado…

Things I Want to Accomplish in 2015

  • Run 40 miles per month. Ugh. I know, right? How basic is it of me to kick off this list with a running-related goal? Especially since I wouldn’t classify myself as a runner. I run (not fast, mind you) but as of right now, I don’t particularly enjoy it. 40 miles/month seems feasible and maybe 2015 will finally be the year I experience the elusive runner’s high. I am up to 12 miles thus far this month so yay?!?
  • Take at least 15,000 steps per day. Because I like to hop on bandwagons a couple of years late, I received a Fitbit Flex for Christmas. So far, I love it. I realize that it isn’t always be 100% accurate but I like being aware of my activity level and keeping my butt off the couch (except now because Tina Fey and Amy Poehler – duh).
  • Paddleboard. Looks like fun. And I want to do it.
  • Read more. Write more. I love to read. However, over the past few years, I have read an embarrassingly low number of books. Probably because I feel guilty reading when I can be doing something more productive like cleaning, playing with the kids, working out, etc… 2015 needs to be the year I cast guilt aside and just sit down and read a damn book for pure enjoyment. I would also like to blog on a more regular basis (man, I sound like a broken record).
  • PCS. Totally counts as a goal, right?
  • Reduce and reuse more. Seems simple enough. Over the past couple of years, we’ve really made an effort to be more mindful of our consumption and less swayed by shiny new things. For example, I wrote about our house being too big and last year, we went car shopping but ultimately decided to continue to drive our 2008 Volvo with 107,000 miles (yes – we drive quite a bit) because we couldn’t come up with a good enough reason to trade it in, seeing as how it was in our financial best interest to hang on to the car. It’s quite embarrassing to admit this but it is our first car to cross the 100,000 mile mark. That being said, there is still quite a bit of waste in our household and I’d like to make a conscious effort to combat that – any tips, advice, etc.. would be greatly appreciated!
  • Embrace 32. I turn 32 in a couple of months. I don’t convulse at the thought of getting older but I would like ensure that I don’t become a frump-monster just because I’m a thirty-something mother of two. And maybe 2015 will be the year I finally learn how to use make-up to my advantage.

Better late than never, right?

9 thoughts on “Goals for the Year

  1. ha! I totally started laughing when I read one of your goals was to use make up because this is one of my goals this year as well! It’s finally time to tackle how to really apply eyeshadow.

    Also, I am loving the fit bit as well. Except two weeks into January I have managed to lose my charging cord for it.

    1. I totally wear make-up but I don’t think I am very good at applying it. I want to make sure I stay in the classy & elegant box and not veer into the two-dollar-whore arena. 🙂

  2. Great goals! One of mine is to simplify life too (along the same lines as your reduce/reuse goal). But I want to both slow our lives down a bit and avoid over scheduling as well as simplify/clear out our home. So much stuff! And it’s true, the more space you have, the more stuff you get to fill it up. Crazy!

  3. Erik and I both (though unknown to the other) resolved to read more. So far I’m a failure at not yet having picked up a single book.

    1. Hahaha! So, i remember you mentioned that you use Ulta cosmetics and last week I was shopping and actually thought, I should ask Karen (okay maybe I thought Clemsonkaren because well, yeah) what exactly she uses because she always looks spot on…not too much, but nice. So, eh, I think your make up is great lol.

      1. That is too funny! I do like Ulta brand cosmetics and the store is less intimidating than Sephora. And to be honest, the a lot of workers at Sephora make me recoil in disgust by the sheer amount of makeup plaster on their faces. And 20-30 minutes of prep time? Nobody has time for that! At least not this girl. 🙂

  4. We also drive our well over 100,000 miles cars because we love not having a payment and they both still drive just fine.

    We actually got our idea for the New England trip from you all! Let’s hang out soon!!

Do you have something to say?

