We Have Only Today

photo

There were about 285 other things I could have been doing during the two-hour delay this morning. But you know what? Not one of them seemed more important than building a fort with these two. The dishwasher didn’t get unloaded, the laundry has yet to be put away, and there are orange crackers still crushed into the living room rug. And yet, the fort remains. There may never be enough time to accomplish every task or cross each item off the to-do list, but you can be damn sure that I’m going to take advantage of every fleeting moment I have at home with these two determined, clever, and extraordinary children.

There are days when I wonder if I made the right choice for me – pausing my career for a couple of years in order to be stay-at-home mom. Today was not one of those days. Because years from now, I suspect I will come home from a job I love to a clean house and give absolutely anything to build a fort again with my young children.

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.” Mother Theresa

One thought on “We Have Only Today

  1. Randi January 29, 2015 / 11:05 pm

    I love that you have your priorities straight!

Do you have something to say?

