Mind the Gap

I am writing this post on a train to New York City. My sister, Megan, is hopping on further up the tracks and we will stay with her sister-in-law, Ashley, who has lived in Manhattan for the past several years. Less of a hassle than flying but not quite as time efficient, the train offers me views of the northeast cooridor and the ability to pack a full-size conditioner bottle in my carry-on. A win-win, for sure.

I’m somewhat embarrassed to admit that it has been over 10 years since I’ve last been to the city I would dream about in childhood. As a tween, I unironically wore an I ❤ NY shirt and would happily tell anyone who listened of my post-collegiate New York City plans. The New York, New York Babysitter’s Club Super Special book was my favorite (wasn’t Stacey just the coolest?) and when I finally experienced the city for the first time as a 12-year -old, I became consumed by the sights and the energy. We lived in Arizona at the time and I was absolutely blown away by the iconic east coast city.

We moved to Pennsylvania during the middle of my 7th grade year. My family often took advantage of being a quick train ride from the city so I was able to get my fix during my teenage years. I briefly considered attending college in the city, the lure of a traditional college campus proved to be stronger and I ended up at Clemson University in South Carolina, which is about as in-New York City as a place could be. My freshman year roommate and I went there over Spring Break and Clay and I spent the three days that Fort Drum afforded him after our wedding in New York City, which marks the last time I’ve been, save for a layover in one of the area airports.

Yes, I am a New York City fan girl. And yes, I’m excited to be visiting this weekend. I’m not sure if I’ll ever have the opportunity to live there but you can sure as hell bet that I’ll never stop visiting the city that never sleeps.

One thought on “Mind the Gap

Do you have something to say?

