Choosing a Daring Adventure

We moved into our townhouse September 2012, after spending almost a month in TLF (temporary lodging facilities) at Joint-Base Anacostia-Bolling. By the time we leave, we will have lived in the Washington DC area a few months shy of three years and our townhouse earns the honor of being the address we’ve had the longest since Clay and I left our homes to attend college out-of-state. When pressed, Clay and I struggle to remember the various addresses we had since we met (last count was at about 15-20) and thank goodness we’re now a cell-phone-only family because the mere thought of memorizing new home phone numbers is absolutely exhausting.

232323232fp384>nu=3279>;7;>999>WSNRCG=32357267;76-5nu0mrj

Our first place. Just a typical winter night at Fort Drum, New York. 

By the time we leave Fort Leavenworth next summer and settle into our unknown following assignment (likely stateside), the little guy will have lived in five states in six years and the little girl will have lived in three states in three years. Since Clay is in the Army for the long haul, we know that there will be many more moves in our future (please oh please – let one be overseas). Our kids will not have the opportunity to attend the same school throughout their formative years and they will have many more goodbyes and hellos than the average child. There are times when I wonder if we’re doing our children a disservice by choosing to the Army lifestyle but those moments are usually fleeting. Because in our experience, the benefits of raising children within the confines of military life outweigh the drawbacks.

The opportunity to not just visit but immerse themselves in a variety of regional US and world cultures is an education itself far beyond the classroom. The flexibility and sense of adventure that is required to move every 1-3 years is an invaluable lifeskill that will serve them greatly throughout their lives. On the other hand, the hardships military children endure can’t be underestimated – having a parent deploy for months/years at a time can place endless emotional strain on children that they may carry throughout their lives (check out this study – Psychiatric Effects of Military Deployment on Children and Families). As young newlyweds, we would tell people that we didn’t dare have children while Clay was in the Army and planned to wait until he left active duty.  Funny how life works out.

IMG_3249

The world is peppered with motivational posters declaring life to be an adventure. After all, “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing,” as famously attributed (in one form or another) to Helen Keller. Right now, we’re choosing the military lifestyle for our children. We can only hope they grow to appreciate the sense of adventure, the lifelong friendships, and the intense family bond that often accompanies this life. Even if it means have way too many addresses to ever remember.

11 thoughts on “Choosing a Daring Adventure

  1. When we moved to Kansas and I started working in the girls school I realized how very blessed we are to be a military family! While working in the 4th and 5th grade classrooms, I was amazed at the fact that I have experienced the majority of the places they are learning about. It is hard not to chime in and tell my stories of visits to museums, vacations to places like Hershey, PA as they are learning how chocolate is made, or the fact that when they were studying natural disasters I could tell a story about experiencing each one! I almost felt bad like I was bragging about my experiences!!! Running the marine corps marathon the day Hurricane Sandy hit DC or being in AL when tornadoes caused so much damage around us! I could go on and on! I have befriended a teacher who is 40 years old and has never seen the ocean in person. The military lifestyle has many drawbacks but also so many blessings to be thankful for! It truly is a daring adventure! 🙂

    1. I first met you when you were deep in the trenches in your marathon training. I was in awe of you then and continue to be blown away by your perseverance through life. I am glad to have known you and can’t wait to see you when we get to Kansas! 🙂

      1. Awww…you are so sweet! I’ve really missed our days of sitting in our lawn chairs and chatting about things as the kids play! I can’t wait to see you all, too! 🙂

  2. I was not a military brat, but I grew up moving every two years until I was old enough to make my own decisions. And even now I still keep moving around! I sometimes envy those who grew up in one place their whole lives, but I wouldn’t give up my past at all. I know I’m blessed to have had the opportunity to have lived in a few different countries as kid and have been able to travel extensively during that time! Your kids will be richer in spirit for it. 😀

    1. I certainly hope so! How lucky are you to have lived in different countries. That is the number one experience I want for my kids (and myself!).

  3. Oh I love this! I have worried so much about what my husband’s military career will mean for our children. I always had this dream that my children would grow up in the same house for their entire lives, but then I met my husband! Funny how live works out. It’s so good to hear of families who have positive experiences with the military lifestyle!

Do you have something to say?

