His, Not Mine

Through the years, I’ve written many posts that discuss my husband’s involvement with the military, specifically the Army. Deployments, TDYs, homecomings, PCSs, and the harsh realities of war are just a handful of topics that pepper this little blog. Because I don’t blog anonymously, I try not too be too forthcoming about the details of my husband’s career. I don’t write about awards, specific achievements, medals, or positions. Partly because of PERSEC, but mainly because they’re his accomplishments and not mine.

FullSizeRender (1)

Last night, we attended a banquet where Clay was a recipient of an award – the name of which is not important in regards to this blog. Of course I am proud of him for earning such an honor and continue to blown away by his sense of duty and commitment to the country. But at the end of the day, he’s still the amusing and bright man I fell in love with almost 15 years ago – regardless of whatever decorations happen to be on his uniform.

Despite the DC humidity (seriously – my hair was curled to the nines and it fell flat approximately 8 seconds upon stepping outside), we had a nice time banqueting (?) and participating in some military traditions. After the ceremony, I had people coming up to me and offering their congratulations to Clay and to me, which just made me all sorts of uncomfortable, seeing as how he was the recipient, not me. But I know they meant well – I just hope that others don’t perceive me as a rank-wearing wife who takes on her husband’s accomplishments as her own. I mean, obviously I am. I just don’t want others to think that about me.

IMG_4140

All kidding aside, it was a fun evening and I couldn’t think of a better person to spend it with. I’d share more photos from last night but they all seem to feature me on the left with a sorority arm and Clay on the right in front of a variety of backgrounds – we clearly need to up our posing game.

6 thoughts on “His, Not Mine

    1. Thank you! It was actually the bridesmaid dress I wore at my brother and sister-in-law’s wedding. Three points for being able to re-wear it. 🙂

  1. Congratulations! To your husband. But I think you at least deserve a high five for your supporting role. I’m sure he’d agree with me. 🙂 Love all those military traditions. You two look great.

Do you have something to say?

