What I Am Currently Listening To…

Since my husband is currently nose-deep in school work, I’m typing on my computer while using headphones to listen to music. I love reading music-related lists so I thought I’d put together a short compilation of what I am currently listening to – aside from Adele’s Hello, of course. I can’t help it – it’s a bloody amazing song.

capture37

I don’t think Lionel Richie’s Hello will never not be funny.

Unknown

I die.

Nina Simone – Sinnerman

I first heard this song in the remake of the Thomas Crown Affair with Pierce Brosnan (much better than any Bond movie he did – I’m a Daniel Craig gal myself). I discovered Nina Simone again during our time at Fort Drum – my boss would listen to her greatest hits album while driving us around to various meetings throughout the rural countryside of northern New York. Ms. Simone’s rendition of this traditional African American spiritual song is everything jazz and gospel should be – and I can’t help but get up and move when the definitive opening bars are heard.

Ryan Adams – Bad Blood

To be honest, I find his tortured musician act tiresome and his voice doesn’t do anything for me 83% of the time. But his cover of Taylor Swift’s Bad Blood? It’s pretty darn good. And better than the original (please don’t hurt me Tay-tay).

Mr. Blue Sky – Electric Light Orchestra

I don’t think there is one song that Jeff Lyne wrote/composed/produced that I don’t love. It’s hard for me to choose a favorite ELO song but Mr. Blue Sky is certainly in the running. And honestly, is it ever a bad idea to add string instruments to an arrangement?

The Outfield – Your Love

If someone were to ask me to compose a list of the Top 10 Definitive 80’s Songs, this song would be in the top half – no contest.  The song instantly transports me back to college, which is funny because it first became a hit in 1986 when I was three. Because of my steadfast love for the song, I also adored this SNL skit from 2013 that is solely the song being lip-lynched.

The Hooters – And We Danced 

You know, not nearly enough songs feature mandolins. Like the song above, this is one of my favorite songs from the decade that gave us the Facts of Life and Good Morning, Miss Bliss. If you don’t get up and dance at least once during this song then you’re a communist.

Better Than Ezra – Juicy

One of my favorite bands from the 1990’s (that we finally saw live earlier this year). The third single from the 2005 album Before the Robots, Juicy was a moderate hit. Unfortunately, it was also featured in a Chili’s commercial (really Better Than Ezra…Chili’s?).

What are you currently listening to?

7 thoughts on “What I Am Currently Listening To…

  1. I just watched the SNL skit. Too funny! I really like the song from The Thomas Crown Affair. It was such a great movie and the song is perfect in it. Happy listening! 🙂

  2. Yesterday I made myself a medley of 90s Metallica ballards, Smashing Pumpkins, Pearl Jam’s “Crazy Mary” and “Mockingbird Girl” from a side project of Scott Weiland’s that some people may remember from the Tank Girl soundtrack. I still consider anything released post-2000 as “new” music and worthy of suspicion.

Do you have something to say?

