And We’re Back!

With all the attention that Sad Affleck (not to be confused with Sad Keanu) has been getting this week, it seems appropriate to mention the 2003 SNL sketch featuring Ben Affleck and Jimmy Fallon as radio shock-jocks. Like many cultural events from our collegiate days, Clay and I reference said sketch at opportune times and bond over a shared smirk when others look at us as if we only have one oar in the water.

Man in the Can, get BACK in the can!

So ummm…yeah, I’m back to writing on this little blog that is gets far less traffic than a Geocities fan page for Magnum P.I.’s Higgins. Truth be told, in the months leading up to my little hiatus I found myself constantly filled with hesitation and doubt when I would sit down to write a post. It wasn’t writers block per se – I had plenty to say. But I was crippled by anxiety, which threw me for a loop because I’m usually not one to experience such angst when it comes things totally in my control (like writing!).

5hwx6M8

I feel better now. And simply put – I missed writing (a lot!) at And Then We Laughed and that seemed as good of a reason as any to return. So what have I been up to? During the past three+ months we watched Clemson fight for but ultimately lose the National Championship, I flew to Las Vegas for a girls weekend with my Fort Drum battle buddies, we drove down to Branson, MO over President’s Day Weekend (#notimpressed), I finally was able to do a one-armed wall handstand, we learned where the Army is sending us next, I blew out 33 candles on top of a delicious cake, we drove 2000+ miles to Philadelphia and New York City and back over Spring Break (and got the stomach flu. Again!), and in the midst of the allergy-hell known as emergent spring in the Kansas City area as we prepare for our next move, courtesy of the Army.

Desktop299

Not sure if anyone (hi Mom!) routinely checks here anymore but if so – hi! And yes, that waffle tasted just as good as it looks. If you ever find yourself in Springfield, Missouri check out Gailey’s Breakfast Cafe and order the freedom waffle. You won’t be disappointed…I sure wasn’t.

10 thoughts on “And We’re Back!

  1. Hi! I’m glad you’re back, as I’m still new here and was hoping you’d continue with your blog. 🙂 Looks like you had a good hiatus. I’m bummed I didn’t know about that fabulous waffle before we left Missouri last week!

Do you have something to say?

