Some Thoughts About Thirty-Three

 I turned 33 last month. I’m not one to joke about turning 29 again or approach each birthday with dread. Hell yeah, I’m excited to be 33 – since when did celebrating another year alive become a shameful and mournful act? I may have a few more laugh lines than I did in my early 20s and gray may be infiltrating my hair but I’m the healthiest I’ve ever been. Not only is every March a reason to rejoice and be thankful for my time on earth with family and friends, it’s an an opportunity to make the upcoming year even better than the one before.FullSizeRender 19
Like many, as soon as I blew out the birthday candles, I proclaimed that my 33rd year would be healthiest year yet. But here I am a month later, eating a leftover slice of cake for breakfast (no shame in my game), wondering what exactly does healthy even look like? And no – 33 will not be the year I embrace paleo or become gluten-free. But I will do the following things…
  • Eat less sugar. Hello – I just admitted to eating cake at 6:30am. Not that I am ashamed – it tastes amazing. But I’ve also been known to eat Sweetarts for lunch and Golden Grahams for a snack. Great for a special treat. Not-so-great multiple times a week. Sugar is not the root of all evil (that title is reserved for Ed Hardy t-shirts) but I probably could stand to cut back on my intake.
  • Practice confidence. Somewhere over the past few years, I lost some of my swagger. Not that I was ever cool, mind you (just ask people from my high school), but for whatever reason, since entering my thirties my confidence has waned.
  • Write more. Beyond creating profiles to troll comment sections. Kidding.
  • Read more. Buzzfeed doesn’t count. Neither does Wikipedia. But re-reading Judy Blume books does because she is amazing and a saint.
  • Surf {online} less. Surf {on water} more. Okay – since the Army is sending us to San Antonio, it is unlikely that my pipe-dream of learning to channel my inner-Margo Oberg will happen before I’m 35. But if Uncle Same sending us to Hawaii materializes beyond a pipe dream – game on. And the amount of time I waste just mindlessly surfing the online world is doing nothing but preventing me from accomplishing more worthwhile tasks. I may have fallen down a YouTube wormhole of Roxette videos while writing this post but in my mind, that is always a worthwhile endeavor. Listen to you heart, indeed.
  • Work harder. In all aspects of my life – there is always opportunity work harder.

While I don’t have the universal answer to what being healthy looks like, I do know that if I am able to work on the above six goals, 33 will be my healthiest year yet – whatever that means.

5 thoughts on “Some Thoughts About Thirty-Three

  1. Rachel M (@ramcquiston) April 20, 2016 / 8:29 am

    Cake makes the best breakfasts. Period. End of story. Glad to hear you’re excited about 33!

  2. Jen April 20, 2016 / 8:52 am

    Here is to an awesome year of being 33!!! 🙂

  3. Victoria April 23, 2016 / 12:24 pm

    Cake can be the breakfast of champions … it’s delicious anyway! Making this year (30 for me) better than the one before sounds about right. 🙂 Happy 33 to you!!!

  4. Amanda April 24, 2016 / 10:43 pm

    LOVE the confidence one. This is a good list. Happy 33rd year of life!

Do you have something to say?

